Quick Couscous with Raisins and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
oh my word...this was purely delightful! it was the first time having couscous for both my husband and myself and we both loved it! i made it when having company and our guests also thought this was very good. i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I really wanted to like this but it was terribly bland. Too bad, it looked fabulous. I recommend using all broth and no water, and it is in desperate need of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by nikita
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe but made a few small changes. I grated the carrot rather than diced and with a slight crunch it was a nice texture overall. Also, I grated ginger and added some garlic along with lemon juice to the carrot mixture (as I did not have any oranges at the time) and chopped fresh parsley to the couscous when finish. Salt and black pepper to season along with olive oil substituted for some of the butter as a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe is extremely simple no-fuss no-muss recipe ready in minutes. I would add a little more "something" next time to give it a flavour punch depending on what the main dish is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I make this whenever a quick and great dish is needed. For my tastes, I add a lot more raisins and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The raisins were the best part of this! I also added some leftover veggies I had lying around: leeks and zucchini, and a bit of plain yogurt right before adding the raisins. Amazing! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used whole wheat couscous and found the combination of sweet and savory very pleasing and intriguing. I really enjoyed this dish. I used all water though because I didn't want to open a can of chicken broth just to take 1/2 cup out. I used golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this but used Craisins instead of raisins. It was a little bland but good. I added salt and pepper. Next time I would prob ably use 1 cup broth and 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great dish. I'm not a big fan of raisins, so I used Craisins instead. The combination of carrots & Craisins made this dish a winner! I'll be enjoying this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made a couple modifications - I used 1 Tbsp olive oil instead of the butter and I used 2 c. lower sodium chicken broth instead of the broth and water. And based on someone's suggestion below, I added the raisins with the broth so they were plump. With these modifications, the dish was a big hit, even with my 5-year olds. I may add more raisins next time (and use golden raisins if I remember to get them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States