Quick Country Cupboard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My son and his friend are not fond of onions and gave this soup 4 stars. My husband and I both thought it was a wonderful 5 star soup. I did use 1 lb of chicken and added a little more water and hot sauce. I also added some chicken buillion granules. Thanks Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
An easy soup to make with great flavor. Perfect for a cold winter night. I used elbow pasta instead of seashells, and added 1/2 cup frozen corn, it worked out well. This soup would probably freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Yumm!! The family loves it. I have made this a regular meal since I found this recipe. I cater and have gotten rave reviews and many requests for this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I thought this was okay...it certainly was quick to make, but I didn't find the flavor to be extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
pretty good and quick soup. you can add just about anything you want and it can't hurt it. thank you for your recipe kat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was so quick and easy to prepare--perfect on a cold winter day! It would easily lend itself to just about any vegetable or bean -- I did add a stalk of chopped celery and I did double the chicken and the pasta--to compensate for the added pasta I added a can of chicken broth. I will definetely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
It wasn't bad, but it was a little bland for me. However, I did use only one package of onion soup mix. The soup mix has a strong flavor to it, so I decided to cut out one of the packages. But, in doing that, I think I cut out too much flavor. Also, if making again, instead of thinly slicing the potatoes, I think I will dice them instead. I also think the pasta should not be added until the last twenty or so minutes of cooking. By the time my potatoes and carrots were tender, the pasta was mushy. I added green beans for some more color, and I think it was a good addition. Overall, not a bad recipe, but needs tweaking to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was a good variation to the chicken soup I usually make. I did make a couple changes to the recipe. I did not have boneless chicken so I boiled the chicken in 5 cups of water first and then when it was almost cooked (about 15 minutes) I took it of the bone and cut it. I then added the rest of the ingredients as stated with the exception of the hot sauce (I did not any). Also, I only used 1 package of onion soup, added about ¼ cup of white wine and 1 tsp. Rosemary. Next time I think I will cut the potatoes in small chunks instead of slicing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
We loved this soup! I was worried about the amt of dry onion so I only used 1 pkg, increased the water to 6c (adding 2 chix bullion cubes) and used only 1 (15oz) can tomatoes. Also, I increased the chicken to 1 lb, added a chopped celery stalk and a couple extra dashes of hot sauce. Very good, very easy & a keeper recipe for my family. Thanks Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cRiStY
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I LOVE this soup!!!! So did my husband. This soup is fantastic on a raining cold day!!! The first time I made it it was too sweet for us. So the second time around I minused the suger and peas (I don't like peas). It was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cRiStY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States