Quick Country Cupboard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
It wasn't bad, but it was a little bland for me. However, I did use only one package of onion soup mix. The soup mix has a strong flavor to it, so I decided to cut out one of the packages. But, in doing that, I think I cut out too much flavor. Also, if making again, instead of thinly slicing the potatoes, I think I will dice them instead. I also think the pasta should not be added until the last twenty or so minutes of cooking. By the time my potatoes and carrots were tender, the pasta was mushy. I added green beans for some more color, and I think it was a good addition. Overall, not a bad recipe, but needs tweaking to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cRiStY
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I LOVE this soup!!!! So did my husband. This soup is fantastic on a raining cold day!!! The first time I made it it was too sweet for us. So the second time around I minused the suger and peas (I don't like peas). It was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cRiStY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I was looking for a quick, tasty recipe to use up the ingredients that I already had, and I found this recipe to be so-so. After cookie the meat I put the soup in my slow cooker because we were going to eat it for a late lunch. At noon, when it had been cooking for 4 hours or so, the potatoes tasted awful, and the soup overall lacked flavor. I whipped out the spices, added more garlic, and eventually added some white wine into it. When my husband tasted it at noon, he didn’t really like it but at 10pm that night when we got home from a party we both agreed it was much better. I didn’t really like the italian seasoning in it, but I did add some cayenne pepper to give it some extra spice. I would make this again, but not without my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
had no carrots and no onion soup,doubled up on the potatoes. Have a real good chipolte hot sauce I use. kids liked it and the Mrs. did too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A tasty & hearty soup. Instead of browning the chicken,I boiled it in the required water; sauteed 2 medium onions, 1 large toe of garlic and then proceeded with the recipe, using a package of baby carrots. A dash of crushed red pepper was also added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was a good variation to the chicken soup I usually make. I did make a couple changes to the recipe. I did not have boneless chicken so I boiled the chicken in 5 cups of water first and then when it was almost cooked (about 15 minutes) I took it of the bone and cut it. I then added the rest of the ingredients as stated with the exception of the hot sauce (I did not any). Also, I only used 1 package of onion soup, added about ¼ cup of white wine and 1 tsp. Rosemary. Next time I think I will cut the potatoes in small chunks instead of slicing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Okay I don't know what to say. It just wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I didn't have any chicken so i used ground beef instead. I added a bit more water, a beef boullion cube, and a stalk of celery. Very easy, very quick. Will definately make it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was so quick and easy to prepare--perfect on a cold winter day! It would easily lend itself to just about any vegetable or bean -- I did add a stalk of chopped celery and I did double the chicken and the pasta--to compensate for the added pasta I added a can of chicken broth. I will definetely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Tasty and very easy. It took no time at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States