Quick Classic Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is a terrific, refreshing soup. My only change in recipe was substituting sherry with LIME JUICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amgodfrey
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Great recipe!! I did do a few different things to make it my own (which might be reflected in the picture I submitted?). I sided it with sliced avocado, stuffed crabs, and wheat crackers. I was not able to find seedless cucumbers at my market, so I used a regular cucumber, halved it, sliced it lengthwise, then scooped out the seeds with a melon baller. Changes I made: - Put half of everything in the blender to smooth it out, then added the other half of the tomatoes for a few seconds just to chop them down a bit. - Used lime juice instead of sherry vinegar. - Added about 1/2-1 cup V8 juice, and 1/2 tsp. each of cumin, curry, and cayenne pepper to give it a slight kick. - Used 2 serano peppers instead of 1 jalepeno (it's what I had on-hand) and used cilantro. My husband LOVES this recipe, and he was looking forward to it again this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I wish I could give this a 3.5 stars. This is a good, and useful recipe. It's quick, easy and fairly foolproof. I've used another recipe from this site that was better, and the main taste difference is the use of fresh versus canned tomatoes. That said, I specifically went looking for a recipe using canned b/c of the convenience. Considering this, this is a very good one. Taste is only marginally compromised by not using fresh tomatoes, and that's worth it when in a pinch. I'll make this again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This was sooo good! Very refreshing and healthy to boot. I halved this recipe and made a few minor adjustments. It seemed too chunky and thick so I added a can of V8 (the hot&spicy kind. Also, I didn't have sherry vinegar so I subbed lime juice. I served it with some lime wedges too. Thanks Pam, you've done it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
i was looking for a fast way to make gazpacho and this worked really well! i added another 1/2 cup of water to thin it out a little and threw in 1/2Tbsp of curry powder to spice it up- turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is a good base recipe. I adapted a bit for items I didn't have and items I wanted more of. I will continue to use this as abase though as it is simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is wonderfully fresh tasting and delicious. A very healthy and tasty way to get your veggies in! Followed the recipe exactly except that I added about 1 tsp cumin and used cilantro in it. Also used basalmic vinegar since I didn't have sherry vinegar. This is something that I'll make often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Made a huge batch of this and loved it! It's even better the second day... the peppers give it a kick and color and I've gotten requests for the recipe already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Delicious! The end result was a little too chunky for me, so I placed half of the soup back in the blender til smooth and then incorporated with the rest of the soup..also used white wine vinegar! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is delicious and very simple. I added cayenne pepper and extra garlic for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States