Quick Clam Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Excellent dish; this has been passed down for generations in my family. The secret to this recipe is adding your own personal flavor! Some of my favorite additions are (not all at once): Red Wine (makes it a bit more moist and adds unbelievable flavor), several small cherry tomatoes, & White Wine. I also like to saute the sauce as instructed, but then add the noodles to the skillet and toss while still heating. This seems to infuse the flavor into the noodles well. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was fantastic, but we made it with modifications: added 4 TB butter with the olive oil, increased the garlic to 6 cloves, added 1/2 of white wine, added a dash of italian seasoning and red pepper flakes and used angel hair instead of spaghetti. It tasted like a restaurant, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I'm giving this 3 stars, because it's pretty basic (but still tasty). I do realize that is the whole point, really. But, I agree with others, I think it could use a bit more garlic (even though I did add more at the suggestion of others here). Maybe 3 big cloves? I also added a splash of white wine. I also think I might add some cracked pepper next time. Thanks so much for a great change!! I would like to add that my 7-year old daughter thought it was a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Awesome. I made the following changes. Used one TB of olive oil and one TB of unsalted butter. I dissolved a couple of anchovies in the oil before I added the clams. I also used a TON of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OreoCookies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Harrison Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Wow, so quick and simple to make! I added some red pepper flakes for a little extra bite. Also I added bacon and deglazed it with red wine. My boyfriend absolutely loved this dish and always asks me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I had company for supper and everyone liked it. Only change I'd make is to add more clams and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was very bland to me and to everyone who tried it..I made some light alfredo sauce and stirred it in, and then it tasted wonderful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Loved this recipe! I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 light butter, TONS of garlic, and a splash of white wine. I tossed in some grape tomatoes and heated until they split. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was very easy to make and my husband loved it. I don't like clams so I have to take his word for it. I did add extra garlic as suggested by others, but I also added some fresh spinach and some steamed asparagus to it as well. I cooked the spinach and asparagus in with the clam juice so everything had flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was delicious!! It did not taste fishy at all (I'm not a fan of seafood). I halved the recipe and made the recipe exactly as written, however, I added 2 tablespoons of white wine with the olive oil. When serving this dish to young children, just don't mention the it has clams in it *wink*. Thank You Kitty >'o'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States