Quick Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I tried the recipe 2 times. Upon my first attempt my yogurt looked what I though was thick. However, after I stirred it, it was like a chocolate yogurt drink. So, I decided to just blend it and drank it. It tasted like tart chocolate milk. The second time I made sure to buy the thickest yogurt type I know of and used that. This time I mixed in and it had a thicker texture. However, it just looked and tasted like chocolate flavored yogurt. It definitely didn't have the dark chocolaty appearance of the main photo. It was more of a tan color. If you are looking to make flavored yogurt, this would be the recipe to go to. Using a thick Greek yogurt works well to do that. A mousse though, this is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Honestly, this surprised the heck out of me...we REALLY liked it! Nice smooth, creamy texture and tastes totally decadent. Yes, there is a tiny bit of a tang from the yogurt, but it's not overpowering. Effortless to make, literally taking just a few minutes. I didn't have Greek yogurt, so I used the Dannon non-fat plain yogurt I had in the fridge and just drained it for about an hour in a colander lined with paper towels. I could see using vanilla yogurt for a slight variation on flavor, as well. On top of these positive comments, nutritionally it's a superstar...you can satisfy that sweet tooth without guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wonderful and very quick! My 8 year old loved making this delicious dessert. He added strawberries on the top for extra healthy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It is such an easy recipe but with a very great flavour! Prepared in lightspeed yet the result is satisfying! A great treat for dorm-living poeple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
A huge surprise! This was really good. I did play with this a bit. I omitted the milk (why dilute the chocolate! and the thicker the mousse the better). As a result I had to microwave chocolate for about 2 minutes (and I used 80% power to avoid burning chocolate). I also used a 70% cocoa dark chocolate (was a bit bitter for this recipe, I think a 50% would be perfect!) and I only added 1c plain greek yogurt (this is the key...it MUST be greek for it to have the mousse texture) and added 1/4 tsp of vanilla (pure) to it. I topped it with fresh strawberries! Delicious. Serves 2. THANKS for the great recipe idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Quick and yummy chocolatey treat. I wouldn't call it mousse as it doesn't have that consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used Fage greek yogurt and a dark chocolate bar. I'll try to use a 50% cacao bar next time instead of the 70%. To try and dampen the yogurt "tang" I added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla extract. It helped! Not my favorite chocolate mousse alternative BUT I am pregnant and nothing at the moment beats the real thing but I do have to watch my sugar intake. This is probably the closest I'm gonna get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I love this as a quick chocolate treat. Be sure not to heat the chocolate too much! It will seize up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States