Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHFLYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I thought this was good but suggest omitting the chili sauce (or at least minimizing it) and replacing with ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Waddell Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I've tried this recipe before and agree it has little flavor. I made this recipe and put "healthier hot legs" on top of the noodles. It was really good but I do recommend not adding as much hot sauce as the recipes calls for because it's super hot. This is a great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I have to agree with those who rated this as bland. As written, it is *very* bland; it literally had next to no flavor. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil and a teaspoon of fresh ginger, minced. In the end, it wasn't bad, but it still lacked some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
noodles texture was odd, but flavor was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joolzm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great Asian-style noodle dish. I used to work at a Chinese Restaurant and the simplicity of this dish closely mirrors that style of cooking. If you're looking for a noodle recipe with a heavy or zesty sauce, French or Italian-style dishes are a better choice. That said.....I LOVE this dish! I used vermicelli instead of the rice noodles and doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and chili sauce. A very quick and simple dish. Thanks for posting Serena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I liked this recipe, even though I kinda changed it up. After boiling the noodles. I heated the oil and garlic, then added some leftover chicken, I put in a few tsp of teriyaki sauce, and the added the noodles, stir and added some more teriyaki sauce and served. My daughter and I liked it. I wanted to add the chili sauce but I didnt have any. So I use a dash of pepper, which really didnt do anything so I added a little soy sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I didn't quite follow the recipe. I added chicken and doubled the chili sauce and soy sauce. I also didn't have green onions, so I used a small white onion, and cooked it with the garlic. My husband and son loved it, but I found it a little bland. Next time, I'll add some vegetables and maybe a chile pepper. But, it's a good basic recipe, if you don't like alot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was the 1st time I ever tried to do these and they were very good even though I did not follow the original recipe. For a more simpler taste I did not use the chili sauce and substituted the green onion for reg. onion since I did not have green. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I thought that this would be a great side dish, but it turned out incredibly bland. It might be okay if you put some beef or chicken on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States