Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Bland but good. Will make again but as suggested by another user, I'll probably double the sauce. And perhaps try a few alternatives. All in all, a good basic recipe with potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were easy and yummy. I didn't boil my noodles but soaked as directed on the package. I would also double the sauce to get enough flavor in the noodles. I added some ginger paste and some cilantro to the sauce. I put some red pepper and mushrooms that I needed to use up in them also. I would make these again to use up veggies out of the fridge it is a great alternative to the "clean out the fridge" fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great recipe. It was very easy. I used curry powder and omitted the green onions altogether because I topped with stir fried veggies and shrimps. It was DEElicious! My husband said it was my best dish yet. I also doubled the soy sauce and used garlic powder in addition to the garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERTROPHYWIFE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Tasty! I also made it with red curry paste and that was great too. Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Added more sweet chili sauce,soy sauce served with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was really good with some modifications. I added ginger, sesame oil, and LOTS of veggies (broccoli, carrots, red bell pepper, cabbage). You definitely need to at least double the sauce as people said in earlier reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I added some minced ginger to the sauce, used about 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 vegetable oil and doubled the garlic to give it a bit more flavor. I also doubled the sauce and used 1/2 to saute diced chicken breasts, broccoli and carrots and then the other 1/2 for the noodles. Pan fried the noodles until crispy and then topped with the chicken and veggies. This is a great dish that is not bland as some have noted, but rather a light one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
LOVE this recipe!!! It is so quick and easy, and it is delicious!! Taking the suggestions of others, I doubled the garlic, chile sauce, and soy sauce. I omitted the green peppers. I was looking for an easy noodle dish with Asian flare, and this is it!! My advice is to mix the chile sauce, soy sauce, and salt/pepper with the noodles in a large mixing bowl. Even with my largest skillet, there wasn't enough room. Also be prepared for this recipe to yield a HUGE amount of noodles. I had leftovers for days, but they were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JINGEE
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A good basic recipe. I modified mine drastically. Instead of boiling the vermicelli, I soaked them in lukewarm water for about 15 minutes (or until soft) while I chopped up Taiwanese cabbage, carrots and sweet peas for a vegetarian dish. Dried shiitake mushroom would also complement the dish, but I didn't have any on hand. In addition to vegetable oil, I added a dash of sesame oil to fry the garlic. As well, I cooked the vegetable with oyster sauce, sweet soy sauce and light soy sauce before adding the vermicelli for a quick toss. Sorry if I butchered your original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I skipped the chili sauce because I had none, and it was srill delicious. Is the chili sauce the kind that looks like catsup or is it a special Chinese ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States