Quick Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Excellent as is. Here are a few suggestions for a more authentic Asian salad. Instead of lettuce use a Cole crop like Chinese cabbage, Napa cabbage, kale, or bok choi, sliced into 3/8 inch strips. These will give more flavor and crunch. I also grate in about a teaspoon of fresh ginger. I agree with halving the soy sauce, which can be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My hubby loves this and always orders it when we go out. After reading the reviews I understand, like "dah" what I was doing wrong when I made it for him & why he doesn't like mine. I like a substantial meal. A solid salad, if it is going to be a meal. I sneak in every available, appropriate ingredient I have on hand, and I have lots of ingredients in my pantry. What I got is that this salad is simple, light & has the only ingredient I never have on hand--cilantro. I didn't love it at all...but my husband, really, really did.. Thanks for letting me see this salad is not for me, and can be enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My family, including two large teenage sons, loved this. We followed exactly except we left out the cilantro and added chow mein noodles for some crunch. It was fabulous and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The only alteration we did was to substitute the field greens with shredded cabbage. It turned out great! Everyone loved it. I suspect it would be just as good with field greens and next time I make it I may try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
fabulously delicious and easy. if you're looking for something quick and healthy I recommend this recipe. The only thing I did was cut the soy down to 2 tablespoons, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I added a little plum sauce to give it that oriental kick. tossed and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Ease up on the soy, and add peanuts or cashews, plus broken dry ramen noodles and diced onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Dahlgard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This tastes great -- as others have said it tastes like what you might get in a restaurant. I added canned mandarin oranges, chow mein noodles, and dry roasted peanuts. The chow mein noodles especially gave it a bit of added interest and crunch. I served it along with potstickers from the frozen section, and a few california rolls from the grocery deli. Together it made a pretty and yummy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was delicious! I changed the dressing to 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 tablespoon sesame oil, and I seasoned the chicken with a seasoning before I roasted it. Used a mixture of lettuce, cucumber, and tomato along with the cilantro. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Love the simple dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States