Quick Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Quick, delicious, and easy. Winner, winner, chili dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Yummmmmmm....I think this is the best chili I have ever made, and I make chili A LOT. I usually don't mess with recipes, since I am not that adventurous a cook, but this time I had to because I was short on time and ingredients. But I feel confident reviewing the recipe since I don't think my changes altered the outcome that much. I followed the recipe as closely as I could, but I only had an 8 oz can of tomato sauce so it came out a bit thin. I threw in what I had on hand: some Emiril gaaaaarlic tomato sauce and an 8 oz can of tomato paste to thicken it up. I didnt have enough red beans at home so I substituted on can of white northern beans for the ranch beans. Also, I browned the meat and then dumped all the ingredients in a slow cooker for 4 hours. I wouldn't normally do this, since the cook time is so quick, but we had a crazy afternoon and I didn't want to worry about dinner. I served it over bowtie pasta to give it some "oomph", and we were happy campers. The kids and I agreed that this will be our new "go-to" recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used black beans instead of ranch style beans as another review suggested and I didnt have a 15oz can of tomato sauce only an 8oz can so I used that and added a 15oz can of diced tomatos un-drained and no added water. My man likes his chili thicker :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Really good and simple. My husband thought it might need a little more spice, but I thought it was just right for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Loved it. I just added a 28oz can of whole peeled tomatoes because I like my chilso chunky, and for spice I used the canned Ortega HOT fire roasted diced green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I used venison instead since my husband hunts and that's what we have around. Also didn't have tomato sauce around but tomato paste so I googled on how to make sauce out of that . So I only had about 12 oz. of sauce and then added about a 1/2 cup water. Added a can of chili ready diced tomatoes because I love tomatoes in my chili. Also used blackened seasoning since I didn't have cajun, but thought that might be close enough! My husband added about a cup of frozen corn cause he loves corn in his chili! I usually have to put sour cream and cheese in my chili, but now with this recipe!! Delish flavors!!! I ususally make a little more soupier one but since I cut the water down to 1/2 cup it was thick and chucky! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asertell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I make this chili a lot. I do recommend using tomato juice in place of water and adding salt. I make it with turkey to make it more lean. Seasoning the meat also adds taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Quick Chili II Haiku: "Quick to make, and great. (I let mine sit in crockpot) But used the same stuff." I kept the ingredients the same, but I tossed everything in the slow-cooker b4 leaving for work so that I wouldn't have to think about dinner when I got home. It's definitely a mild, no-fuss chili that could benefit from additional seasonings/spices, or diced tomatoes, bell pepper, fresh garlic etc ... but as it stands, it was a pretty darn good bowl of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great chili!!! It was very simple (great for a working mom) and taste great. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent and so easy! Added black beans instead of kidney beans. Will definitely make again. Diane/White Rock, British Columbia/Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States