Quick Chicken Zingarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very flavorful and easy to make. Go lite on the pasta and you have a healthy choice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
AWESOME! I don't know what some of the other reviewers were talking about in regards to lack of flavour. I thought the flavour was wonderful. I have made this recipe with chicken and another time with a mix of large shrimp (1.25 ilb,) and scallops (1 ilb.). I seared those seperately with a little olive oil, salt, and fresh cracked pepper and then added them in at the end. Both versions of this recipe were great. As for changes to the recipe in general besides what type of protien I used, I could not find roasted Italian cherry peppers, so I substituted an equal amount of sliced roasted red peppers and added 1/2 tsp. crushed red chili flakes. I put the flakes in with the garlic, at the beginning, to bring out their flavour. The 1/2 tsp. was just enough to say 'hey, I'm here, I'm spice, but not too much spice'. If you wanted this dish to have more kick, I'm sure you could use a whole tsp. without overpowering the other flavours. Also, the spaghetti sauce I used was President's Choice Marinara sauce. If you're not Canadian, you might not know this brand, but it's a groccery store brand of okay quality. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Okay, I made a mistake and used PICKLED sweet peppers (the kind with vinegar but no sugar added) and I have to say it was AMAZING, quite possibly the best tasting sauce I've ever eaten. The flavor will be largely affected by your choice of spaghetti sauce so choose a high quality one. Other than that, I added salt and lots of freshly ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The sauce was good. Tastes just like spagetti. I didn't care for the chicken in it. I think it would be better with hamburger meat. Unless you were watching your figure, I would not recommetd this recipe to anyone I know. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is yummy. We had it over rice instead of the suggested pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This left my lips burning with 1/2 the cherry peppers! Next time I'll do this with just some red pepper flakes. Otherwise, very very good. My family doesn't eat mushrooms and onions, so we added a small yellow and green squash instead. I agree that you should buy a good sauce as that really helps the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very tasty..... super quick and easy. I couldn't find the specific peppers listed at my small town grocery, but used sweet cherry peppers which were still pretty spicy. Whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe is the best! I put everything (except pasta, of course) in the slow cooker. When I got home from work the house smelled wonderful and it tasted even better. My husband, who isn't very fond of chicken ate 2 huge helpings. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakesnthings
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Everyone ate this all up! I cooked the mushrooms (8oz.), onions, and half of the garlic together. I took note in the reviews that it needed something more flavor wise, so I added kosher salt and thyme to the mushrooms. I cooked the chicken separately and I didn't bother salting it because the sauce has plenty of sodium in it, but i did add italian seasonings and the rest of the garlic. Once the chicken browned I combined everything and used a 1/2 cup of red wine and it was perfect. I didn't have any roasted cherry peppers on hand but will try next time or brown sugar, it was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was a very easy and very well accepted meal. The italian cherry peppers added a great spicy kick to the meal. This dish would have received five stars if it had a little more flavor. I felt as if it was missing one key spice for flavor, perhaps some fresh kosher salt. Lastly, I made this with spaghetti instead of linguini as this was all I had on hand (actually, I forgot to buy it at the store). My one additional suggestion would be to NOT skimp on your jar of spaghetti sauce and buy a top notch brand. Afterall, this is where most of our flavor is coming from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States