Quick Chicken with Asparagus and Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Fast & easy. Like someone suggested before me, though, I would wait until the last minute to add the provolone. I'll also substitute fresh asparagus instead of canned next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
At first I thought "Yuk canned asparagus" but, it sounded intriguing so I tried it. My first thouht was correct - YUK canned asparagus. Do yourself a favor use fresh asparagus I gave it a 2nd try with fresh and it made ALL the difference; it went from yuk to great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was great, next time I will add a little white wine to the sauce. Fresh asparagus is a must. Thanks, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I took other reviewer's advice and only added half the broth and I also added white wine. I used chicken breast cutlets and cooked them in half the time. I added freshly grated romano cheese to the breadcrumbs and put the provolone on 2 minutes before they were done. Everyone raved! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did make a few adjustments though. I added grated parmesan cheese to my bread crumbs and coated the chicken in both. Instead of pan frying in oil, I just used a light cooking spray and cooked about 3 minutes per side; it really helped to keep the crust crunchy. I topped the chicken with fresh asparagus (it stayed crunchy) and fresh portobello mushrooms. I baked it in the oven at 420, covered, for about 40 minutes; I also put a little chicken stock in the bottom of the pan so the chicken would stay moist. I added my cheese at the last 5 minutes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Fantastic! I went out on a limb and made this for company without ever trying it first. It was easy, delicious and looks impressive on the plate. I needed only one egg to dredge the breasts in. And, like the other reviewers, I used much less broth, probably only 1/2 cup. I also used fresh asparagus. No need to saute or steam beforehand, it steamed perfectly in the 15 min. stated in the recipe. Also I waited till the very end and then laid the cheese on top. It melted quickly in a minute or two. I can't wait to make this again! It is so good and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Very quick and easy to make. My husband really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This probably would have gotten a 5 had I not goofed on the recipe! I decided not to bread it to cut down on carbs and deep frying, so instead I just browned it on both sides with some olive oil. And then I goofed and forgot to add in the broth which I think affected the way the cheese melted. I also used frozen aparagus as opposed to canned. The flavor was awesome, but the cheese didn't stick to the chicken quite right, so I had to kind of pick up the melted cheese with a spoon and drizzle it back over the chicken. We all enjoyed it though, and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The chicken was very moist. However, if I make this again, I will not add the Provolone cheese until the end...maybe last minute, because it melted into a big, rubbery glob. Also...I think a whole can of chicken broth is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Took suggestions from previous reviewers - pounded chix thin, added cheese under and over *fresh* steamed asparagus, and used half the amount of stock. Next time I will use white wine instead of stock but this is a wonderfully tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States