Quick Chicken with Asparagus and Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by FIRESIGN1164
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I made various modifications to this recipe and came out delicious! Instead of using egg beat...I marinated for an hour in Mrs. Dash Garlic and Lime marinade. I then coated in Parmesean bread crumbs...sauteed with a little olive oil and canola oil cooking spray. Instead of canned chicken broth, I use Herb~Ox sodium free brand of chicken broth...one packet mixed with hot water = cup of broth but only used 1/2 c and white wine to taste. Used fresh asparagus added Oscar Meyer bacon bits and only used 1/2 slice of Provolone cheese for each. I found Frigio Provolone has least amount of fat and saturated fat than other brands. Added McMormick Garlic Sea Salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Made this for dinner and my husband raved over it and wants to serve it when his parents visit! My two picky boys even ate it sans asparagus. I pounded the chicken first, and used a cup of broth and 1/2 cup white wine, fresh asparagus and given amounts of egg and bread crumbs to make six chicken breasts. Delicious with a great presentation. The extra sauce was poured on the egg noodles I served as a side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good. The chicken turned out incredibly moist. Followed other reviewers advice and waited to put the cheese on at the end and used fresh asparagus, however, no need to steam it beforehand, it was plenty tender following the recipe. Did use chicken broth and white wine mixed for liquid and don't recommend cutting down on it. I served this with white rice and drizzled left-over juice on the rice. (Oh, also used a little extra cheese and some of it melted into the juice, which was really good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I prepared this for a group dinner. Everyone loved it. The only change I made was to use fresh instead of canned asparagus. Will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was a pretty simple, straightforward recipe that could use some tweaking to make it fantastic. I should have used fresh asparagus, don't know why I didn't since I really don't like asparagus from a can. Also, it seemed like kind of a waste of chicken broth. You really don't need all that much, or you're just pouring it down the drain. It's got great simple flavors though, and it WAS quick and easy, so I'll try it again and play with it a little bit, which I'm sure will improve my opinion some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Awesome.if you are just starting out to cook, this will impress. my minor changes: i used 1/2 cup broth, 1/2 cup white wine. soo moist. also i took pork chops out instead of the chicken before i left for work, so i used the pork chops. still great. I also waited till the end to add the cheese. I unfortunalty reduced the sauce, which was a mistake as there was no sauce to add to plates. but it was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
The recipe didn't say to warm the asparagus, but I did, and it really needs to be warm. But we all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
It was okay to eat once but not a recipe I would repeat. I used fresh asparagus (which I normally adore) but it acquired a funny taste after it was cooked with the chicken. I gave it 3 stars since it was easy to make and not horrible tasting. (but I would not call it good tasting either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. So quick and easy. We loved it. I did wait til everything was done and then put the Provolone on, just long enough to start it melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This recipe is great, I personally would substitute the canned asparagus with fresh asparagus spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States