Quick Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Quick & tasty - a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this stew was great. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bell, Florida, USA
Living In: Newberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
We couldn't believe how much we love this stew! To save time and dishes, instead of serving with mashed potatoes, rice or pasta I cubed 3 small potatoes and added them along with the other ingredients. I also omitted the butter and used spray olive oil to cut down on the fat grams. We will certainly enjoy this one pot meal time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I loved the aroma of this dish. It was very good, and the seasonings were great. I wouldn't call it a stew. We served it over pasta, and I called it "chicken vegetable pasta." It took me about 20 minutes to make - partly because I already had most of my vegetables chopped up. When I know that I'm going to use a vegetable in another recipe later in the week, I just chop it up all at once at the beginning of the week. The only thing that I would change is to add the zuchini a minute or two after adding the red peppers and carrots so that it doesn't turn out so much softer than the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I can't really say anything bad about this recipe. It was really tasty and super healthy. It was also extremely easy!!! I didn't have diced tomatoes so I just used plum tomatoes that I chopped up myself. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent stew!!!! The only thing I did different was use Thai Chili Sauce instead of red pepper flakes. Amazing!!!! This will be a regular dish in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I could have probably left this recipe alone as it was (except for needing some extra liquid because the tomatoes I used didn't have very much juice) and it would have been fine, but I can't seem to bring myself to do that! ;-) Here's what I did: I added chicken broth until I liked the juiciness. I added 1 tsp. of sugar, put in 1 tsp. of salt and 1 extra Tbsp. of butter. I would have added Parmesiano Reggiano instead (and will next time) but I didn't have any, so I added some asiago cheese. Also, I'm a pretty proficient cook, but I don't see how this gets on the table in half an hour unless you're a speed demon or you pre-cut the vegetables and don't cook them very much. This took closer to an hour to get to the table. My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed this with a crusty baguette and I had leftovers with some spiral noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was fantastic 'stew'. I had to add 2 cups of water to make it a stew though. Also, I used a can of Rotel (mild) instead of plain diced tomatoes which gave it more punch. I didn't measure out any of the seasonings, I never do. I always guesstimate. It took longer than 30 minutes! It took about an hour total. I cooked the chicken boobs first in a bit of olive oil & smothered them with chicken seasoning, then I threw in the entire chopped onion & the garlic. From there, I dumped it all into a stew pot & added the rest of the stuff. I used fresh ground pepper & I let it all simmer together for 35 minutes. I served it over brown rice. Yummy. I'll be making this again! We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this last night and it was wonderful. It did take longer but it was well worth it. I grated some Parmesan to a fine powder and added it to the stew and it helped cut down on the acid I also added some wine because there wasn't enough liquid. Everyone loved it and I have fussy eaters. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States