Quick Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
So easy and yummy. Great for a chilly evening when you want something warm and hearty. Both my husband and three year old twins love this recipe...and that ain't easy. I serve over a mix of white and brown rice. Can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made mine with small potato cubes,onion, carrots, and celery. If you don't like things on the warmer side I suggest reducing the amount of crushed red pepper flakes. Also mine cooked pretty quickly and all of tomato juice may have been absorbed into the potatoes so I had to add a little bit of V8 juice put it still turned out really good:)I cooked my chicken in just enough olive oil so that it wouldn't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Definitely not a stew, but very good! I only gave it 4 stars because the recipe as written would have been a little bland for my taste. I doubled the basil and added an extra bayleaf. I also added oregano, thyme, black pepper, and garlic salt to taste. I topped it with Parmesan cheese (lots of it!) and served it over pasta. Even my husband liked it, and he normally doesn't like a lot of tomatoes or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
After making this for the very first time, it immediately became a top favorite. The first time I made it though, I didn't pay attention that it calls for two cans of diced tomatoes, I only bought one can, but had chicken broth and a package of grape tomatoes, added 1/2 cup of broth and a handful of the grape tomatoes, it turned out fine. With two cans of the tomatoes it is great too, I now make it both ways. Serve it with cheesy garlic sourdough toast and spinach salad on the side. I eat ALL of what I make of this, feeds me for at least 3 nights...thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent!! Deleted Zucchini (family doesn't like it). Added potato and celery. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this last night and it was wonderful. It did take longer but it was well worth it. I grated some Parmesan to a fine powder and added it to the stew and it helped cut down on the acid I also added some wine because there wasn't enough liquid. Everyone loved it and I have fussy eaters. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe but needed a lot more spice to make it interesting. Added potatoes and corn to thicken it up a bit so you don't need rice or pasta to make a meal. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Overall this dish was really good w/ some modifications. I wouldn't call it a stew though b/c it isn't broth based; its more like a one-dish meal served over rice. I like a lot of flavor so I added another clove of garlic, another bay leaf, and a bit more basil. I also added celery (as another user suggested) and it hit the spot. It was very filling (even for my hubby) and was fast and easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I can't really say anything bad about this recipe. It was really tasty and super healthy. It was also extremely easy!!! I didn't have diced tomatoes so I just used plum tomatoes that I chopped up myself. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I loved the aroma of this dish. It was very good, and the seasonings were great. I wouldn't call it a stew. We served it over pasta, and I called it "chicken vegetable pasta." It took me about 20 minutes to make - partly because I already had most of my vegetables chopped up. When I know that I'm going to use a vegetable in another recipe later in the week, I just chop it up all at once at the beginning of the week. The only thing that I would change is to add the zuchini a minute or two after adding the red peppers and carrots so that it doesn't turn out so much softer than the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States