Quick Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I always double this recipe. Changes to the double recipe: salt-free chicken stock, three cloves garlic, a few celery leaves (no celery salt), pepper, and more carrots than called for (usually use all in the fridge ... mini carrots and reg chopped carrots). After all is cooked, add left overs from a store-broiled chicken. Salt to taste. (chicken is usually salted, but sometimes needs a bit.) Love the fresh cilantro on top. Make this every time there is left-over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Pretty good! I had leftover grilled chicken and some orzo from dinner last night, but didn't feel like eating the same meal for dinner tonight, so I made this soup (using chicken stock and not broth since that's what I had). I heated up the stock, carrots and seasoning, diced up my leftover chicken and threw it in a few minutes before taking it off the heat, and then added the orzo last (since it was already cooked and I didn't want it to get mushy). A great way to doctor up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I used "Imagine" chicken broth (the best) and added cooked egg noodles and some frozen corn in at the end. Homemade taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
it's a very good standard recipe. i actually never used bought broth of any kind before, but i was surprised, it was quite tasty. i made it for my bf 'cause he got his wisdom teeth pulled and couldn't really chew. i had cabbage so added that in first and let cook for about 20mins. then i put in celery, frozen veggies(carrot/beans/peas/corn mix, so easy) and a handful of pasta. i let it cook for about an hr. everything was overcooked and falling apart, but i did that on purpose so the bf could eat it. i did add maybe 1/3 of water though 'cause the broth got soaked in/evaporated w/ time. very good all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
First let me say I do not like chicken soup - until now. Great recipe. I did make the following changes to fit my taste. Used half low sodium chicken stock and the other half vegetable stock with two bay leaves. Added two stalks of celery. Omitted cilantro and added fresh parsley and basil. At the end, added small shells pasta. My husband and three children ages 7, 6 and 4 loved it. I know I changed the recipe, but thanks for a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very good basic soup. My son had a cold, so this was a nice soup and he really enjoyed it. I also added a potato and fresh parsley instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I loved this simple recipe! I didn't have celery salt on hand, so instead of 2 cups of carrots - I used 1 cup chopped carrots and 1 cup chopped celery. I also put it all in the crock pot in the late morning on low, and it was done in perfect time for dinner! I will be making this again =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Total hit in my house. Easy and warming for a nice cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Truly quick, delicious and easy. I make this whether I'm under the weather or on top of the world, but it is a wonderful recipe to keep on hand when you haven't the energy to spend in the kitchen. I sometimes add chopped celery and noodles. Another great variation - I add a dash of cumin, a small can of fire-roasted diced green chilies, and top with a few tortilla chips. Either way, I always serve this soup with lots of fresh chopped cilantro and lime wedges. This recipe is always at the forefront of my recipe binder. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Based on how easy the recipe was, the soup turned out surprisingly nice. It wasn't the best chicken soup I ever had, but I suppose that type of soup takes hours of slaving away in the kitchen. I also used fresh chopped celery instead of celery salt and a boullion cube base. We had some leftover pre-cooked spaghetti noodles from the dinner before which we added in the last 5 minutes and it made a nice addition. We had leftovers the next day, and I actually thought it tasted better the second day, after the flavors had more time to release. The vegetables/chicken/noodles had absorbed some of the soup, so we added a little more boullion base, and it was really delicious the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States