Quick Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Love this recipe, got it from a friend last year, with these differences (1) use milk instead of mayonnaise; (2) add 1 tsp. garlic powder; (3) add 1/2 - 1 tsp. curry powder (husband & I like more, daughter less, so I use no more than 1/2 tsp.); (4) bake 20 mins., sprinkle lightly with dry bread crumbs, bake 10 mins. more. I use 98% fatfree soups and skim milk. Good with noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This is an awesome recipe with modifications. For those that said it lacked flavor, add 1/2 teaspoon curry and an extra teaspoon of lemon juice. I also use more chicken, only 1/2 cup shredded cheddar which is cooked with the rest of the sauce ingredients until cheese is melted, then poured over cooked chicken, and steamed broccoli (make sure to pat with paper towels), and sprinkled with a bread crumb mixture of 2 tbsp. melted butter and 1/2 c. bread crumbs. WONDERFUL! This is excellent with Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice mix - originaly recipe, served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Wow...this dish caused the biggest reaction I have ever had about dinner from my husband! He loved it. I thought it was great too...Definately a keeper. I did use 2 cans of cream of chicken instead of the cream of mushroom...no mushroom lovers in our house...thanks for a great and easy recipe!! p.s. have made this many times since, now I just use fresh broccoli, not frozen. Cooks fine, so no need to precook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY EWING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Oh my gosh! This was outstanding! I used uncooked chicken. Used large frozen broccoli flowers. Chopped up my raw chicken breast and put on top. I added about 1/4 cup cheese to soup mixture and added pepper to taste. Baked about 35-40 minutes,then topped with the cheese and baked 10 minutes more. Chicken was so tender. Served over rice. This was so fast to prepare and delish! My family went crazy over this. Thanks so much Shannon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
I absolutely love this recipe, I have basicly used this recipe years. I use a topping of mozzerella and add herbed breadcrumbs and butter for a golden topping, and my niece and nephew love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
My kids loved this dish! I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken and added some french fried onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was delicious, but a bit on the salty side even though I used reduced sodium soups. I think this would be outstanding if you were to place the broccoli and chicken on a bed of wild rice, then pour the soup mixture and cheese over it. I know that Chicken Divan does not have rice in it, but the rice would add a nice nutty texture and flavor, while absorbing some of the excess salt. Thanks Shannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Mediocre at best. Canned soup in the sauce gives this an artificial taste. I'll do the the work and make the "old fashioned" recipe, which is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Excellent flavor. You need to serve over rice or noodles to soak up some of the liquid. I added a little curry for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
THIS GOT MY KIDS TO EAT THEIR BROCOLLI!! Does need maybe a little more lemon juice and some curry, as someone else suggested, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States