Quick Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I give this 5 stars for the ease of preparation and because this is made with ingredients my family always has on hand. I served it over white rice. I like to make the recipe as written the first time and so I didn't make any changes. I did however saute the chicken in some olive oil and sprinkled it with salt, pepper, and garlic salt. Next time I will add curry like other reviewers suggested and I will also use fresh broccoli instead of frozen. My four year old thought that the broccoli was "mushy" and I agree. My husband says this is a winner and so I guess it will be added into the rotation :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Did not care for the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Have made this recipe for years. My family LOVES it. Only variations are to add 1 tbsp lemon juice, and 1 tsp curry powder. Also I add cooled rice to the bottom of the casserole to make it a one-dish meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
When I make something for the first time I always ask myself if the dish is worthy of being served to guests. If it isn't, then I likely won't make the dish again. This one did not make the cut. I followed the recipe exactly and found the dish to be bland and it tasted artificial. The only plus on this recipe was that it was fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Really tasty! I have used a very similar recipe for years only mine just used cream of chicken soup (no cr. of mushroom) and also has 2-3 tsp. tarragon added. I also added 2 Tbs. lemon juice. In mine you place frozen broccoli spears on the bottom, then top with cooked chicken breast halves, then the sauce over the top of that and cover with shredded cheddar and bake. Great flavors however you put it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was really easy and really good. The reason for only four stars is because it was just a tad bland. Next time I will try half mayo and half sour cream as another reviewer suggests. Otherwise VERY good. I did add a Ritz cracker/butter upper crust also. UPDATED-- forget the mayo and just use sour cream and it is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I love this dish. It is flavorful and filling....and best of all it is versatile! I always top my chicken divan with cheddar cheese and crushed cheddar crackers (such as Cheez-its). Also, I use a variety of cream soups, depending on what I have on hand. Cream of mushroom or chicken or celery work best though. I also sometimes substitute sour cream for the mayonnaise. The sour cream gives it a slightly different taste...as does eliminating the lemon juice or curry. Overall a wonderful casserole that I have enjoyed for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Love this recipe! It is a hit by all in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIISA1123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was quick, easy, and tasty. I needed something to prepare ahead, so I put the casserole together the night before, using canned chicken breast. I also halved the recipe. It was a good quick meal the next night. I found it was better served over chicken-flavored rice mix. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made some changes, I used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1can of cheddar broccoli, substituted milk instead of the mayo and doubled the lemon juice. I topped with breadcrumbs and served over egg noodles! Delicous! Will add seasonings next time and mushrooms. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States