Quick Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was delicious! I made a few changes to use what I had: I cooked chicken drumsticks (they were on sale) in the slow cooker with some chicken broth and water, once they were done i picked off the meat and discarded bones and skin, I used two cream of chicken cans with a bit of the juices from the slow cooker, then i doubled the dumpling recipe and did it on the stove top. It was great. Hubby doesn't like veggies so didn't add any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent! My husband loved this! It reminded him of a cherished childhood recipe his mother made for him. I know I'll be getting requests to make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it twice already. The first time, it burned a little on the bottom, so the second time, I stirred occasionally while the dumplings were cooking. I converted it to a vegetarian recipe by using seasoned baked tofu instead of chicken, which I added at the end instead of cooking the whole time and just cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken and mushroom. Great and easy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
great.. loved it.. just added a chicken broth cube to it. My husband ate two helpings and my picky 4 year old daughter did too.. even the peas! She made the bisquick batter up and dropped it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerybeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very good recipe. I didn't have a can of chicken and mushroom soup, so I combined a can of condensed chicken soup with a small can of sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
my husband also licked the plate clean- never had made dumplings before so i made each dumpling about 6 spoonfulls, ended up mixing it all together because it seemed like it wasnt cooked enough(it was)- put 2 cans of soup because it didnt seem think enough, was fine- used just a can of peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I had never made chicken and dumplings before so this recipe was very quick and easy for me, and very tasty. The only thing I changed was adding 2 cups of milk instead of 1 1/2 and I added a dash of fresh ground black pepper. As I read in another comment, if you have a large family or big eaters you will need to triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I've never tried to make dumplings before and this recipe turned out great the first time. I used green beans and corn instead of peas and carrots - I'll totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was "lick the plate" good according to my husband. I did my own substitutions because I'm snowed in . . . I boiled one chicked breast seasoned with rotissarie seasonings. Once cooked, I cut the breast into chunks for my cup of chicken. Next, I used the broth that it made, added 1 and 1/3 cups of 2 % milk, 1 jar of mushroom alfredo sauce and frozen green beans, corn, pea and carrots. I had to cook twice as long as the recipe suggests to get the bisquik done. Total awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I loved this dinner. The only thing I would change is doubling the recipe....maybe tripling the soup. I have a lot of big eaters and this was barely enough....which was a fault on my part. Definitely cold weather dinner....very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States