Quick Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Easy, tasty...exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I am giving this five stars, not because it's the best I've ever had but, because it was so easy to make and it still tasted very good. I changed a few things to suit my craving. I didn't want chicken in it so I used cut up mushrooms and onions to add bulk. I sauteed them in with the bell pepper and butter until the natural moisture was reduced a bit. I then added the soup but did not add milk because I like mine to be thick. I eat it on toast so I didn't want it to be too wet. This vegetarian method tastes just like if you were to put chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Rettig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was very good. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is really really delicious. I didn't use leftover chicken, I just cooked it in a pan with some butter, salt, and pepper. I also served it over yellow rice instead of normal white rice, which adds a lot of flavor. So easy, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I was trying to find something different to prepare for dinner. This is a dish my mom made when I was young. My family love it. I made some changes - used Cream of Chicken; sauteed celery, red and green peppers, mushrooms; used a little chicken bouillon (with a little water) and pepper. Served over rice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Super quick and easy! Also, very family friendly. I used leftover turkey instead of chicken. I made sure the chopped peppers were big enough for the picky eaters (my husband) to take out. I served this over biscuits. My husband had leftovers over mashed potatoes. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing recipe!!! Chicken a la King was my favorite as a child, and this, plus a few changes, brought back all those happy memories! I added onion, garlic, and chili powder. Chopped onion, minced garlic, both red and green bell pepper. And due to allergies I used Cream of Chicken soup. Tasted great! Have made and will make many more times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This one is a big hit with my picky eaters. I sautee cubed chicken with some garlic pepper adding some onion at the end and the flavour is great! Thank you for a quick and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is a good base, but I imagine it would be quite bland on its own. I didn't have precooked chicken so I boiled two chicken breasts (next time I'd bake or sautee them). Even with the extra step it was very quick and tasted very good. I minced two cloves of garlic and sauteed it with the red pepper. I then added the mushroom soup and milk. I didn't have enough milk (sad, I know), so I added a couple of tablespoons of sour ceam. I sprinkled in some onion powder, chili powder and a bit of cayenne; I also added some parmesan cheese. All that gave it a really nice flavor without being too overwhelming. I didn't feel like rice so I used half a bag of wide egg noodles. During the last couple of minutes of boiling the noodles I added some frozen peas (maybe 1/2 cup). I tossed it all together in the skillet and then served. All in all, the recipe serves as a great base but I think it needs a little help. I have a feeling my boyfriend will be requesting this again soon! I will make it as described above, except for cooking the chicken differently. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The chicken stayed really tender which I thought was great. It is an easy dish which is something I look for. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States