Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It was good. I was out of a few things...onion and garlic clove so I used garlic and onion powder. I wanted more flavor so I skipped the flour and added Bistro gravy thickener. Tasty overall with lots of pickle zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
SO easy and fast! I used a store-bought crust and then used sweet pickle relish vs. the dill pickle juice and pickles. I couldn't find the swiss cheese so used cheddar cheese and it was great. We set mayo, mustard and ketchup on the table and the whole family got to make their cheeseburger pie complete! My son had 3 helpings! Now I want to try the Mexican version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VINERIPENED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Very good! I like the crust- it is very easy to make. We love the cheeseburger flavor, but you can also go Mexican with this and make a taco pie. Use cheddar cheese, substitute 1 can of undrained diced chilis for the pickles and juice, and instead of 1/4 cup flour, mix 2 TBSP taco seasoning with 2 TBSP flour. Top with chopped tomatoes and sour cream. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
We really liked this! Beware, it's quite pickle-y, but that's what makes it a genuine, old-fashioned cheeseburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
It was ok. My husband called it "heart attack pie". I can see kids liking this though.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe was quick and easy, and the kids loved it. Hubby thought it was good, but could use some extra flavor. I used an unbaked, frozen, pre-made pie shell, cooked it halfway, added the meat mixture, then baked the whole thing for 15 min as stated. I also browned the beef, onion and garlic all together rather than in stages as the recipe suggested. Both changes made preperation much faster. I added in Worcestershire sauce and Hamburger Seasoning. Will be making again, but need to find something to amp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Sorry, I thought this was pretty horrible and with a few modifications at the end, it ended up being edible (maybe a 3 star). First off, the crust was bland & had a sour flavor. The meat filling only filled up the crust HALF way - which was maybe my fault for using a deeper pie pan. I took this out of the oven & thought it looked awful so I sauteed a package of mushrooms and added on top, still there was a lot of room left - AND I was frying hashbrowns on the stovetop as a side dish so I layered them on top. That was the only thing that saved the dish. We all picked off the crust and husband asked what possessed me to make this. I just had a craving for cheeseburgers & thought it might take care of it. It kind of did...it tasted a bit like a McDonalds cheeseburger & fries. (I don't know if that is a good thing though) So next time, I will save myself the trouble and go through the drive through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
It was pretty good, but I will modify next time. I love dill pickles, but didn't care for them in this dish. I think I will take the suggestion to add worcestershire, and maybe use Bisquick instead of pie crust. But I give it 4 stars because my picky eaters ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have been making this same dish for over 10 years and everyone in my family loves it. Through the years I have made some changes that I feel make it even better! Instead of using dill pickles and juice, I found that bread & butter pickles gives the pie a sweeter taste that's not as salty as dills. I also make two pies at a time. I use velveeta cheese for one pie and sharp Cheddar for the other. The changes in these two ingredients completely changes the pie into something much much better than the original recipe. I hope fellow users will find this info helpful. Best of luck, and keep cooking y'all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This would be a fantastic Superbowl dish, or dish for a child's Birthday party. This was a tastey and filling recipe. No left overs! My toddler doesn't like meat and she enjoyed it. I varied the recipe a little by using Cheddar instead of Swiss, since that is what I had on hand. I would like to try it with Swiss next time. This one has my family's approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States