Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Hi there! I submitted this recipe...it SHOULD have read that the can of tomatoes was UNDRAINED. You will need the extra moisture for the recipe to turn out properly. Sorry to those who followed the original inaccurate directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a good recipe for a potluck or a family meal. The ingredients are inexpensive,it is easy to fix and everyone likes the way it tastes! I serve it with real crunchy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this during the holidays. I chose it because my grown kids and their families like recipies with garlic. They really liked it. I would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
yummy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Have made this a few times for the whole family and they love it, even the kids. I have substituted low sodium tomatoes to cut back on the salt. The lack of juice does certainly not affect the flavor as there is plenty of moisture in the vegetables as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Made this for a campout and it was a big success. Noticed another reviewer had said it was bland so used Italian seasoned tomotoes as well as Italian sausage and it turned out great. Next time, though, will up the amount of sausage, otherwise it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Easy. Yummy. I have made this many, many times and throw in whatever beans or whatever tomatoes I have on hand. Try adding corn, salsa, creamed corn or jalepeno too. Serve with rice and a side salad and you have a feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was amazing! I didn't drain the tomatoes, as was recommended. I also used Great Northern instead of cannellini beans and saved a little bit of the bean juice to add to the sauce. For extra flavor I added a splash of red wine, and I used red pepper flakes instead of the thyme. Served with rice, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akai57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Used canned carrots and frozen diced onions as a timesaver. Also, used two cans of white beans instead of one white and one red. Used a whole roll of pork sausage instead of smoke sausage. Added a bit of red wine and some beef broth to further enhance the flavor. My husband loved this and said he never has had anything with his kind of flavor. Also, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
As suggested, I did not drain my tomatoes and used Great Northern Beans since I had no canellini's on hand. Great, hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States