Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Used canned carrots and frozen diced onions as a timesaver. Also, used two cans of white beans instead of one white and one red. Used a whole roll of pork sausage instead of smoke sausage. Added a bit of red wine and some beef broth to further enhance the flavor. My husband loved this and said he never has had anything with his kind of flavor. Also, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Hearty, fast meal. Used 2 cans of cannellini beans and rubbed thyme (about 1/4t). I'm going to add chicken broth to the leftovers to make a thick bean soup/stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was pretty good. We used only the cannellini beans which are more tender than the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Made this for a campout and it was a big success. Noticed another reviewer had said it was bland so used Italian seasoned tomotoes as well as Italian sausage and it turned out great. Next time, though, will up the amount of sausage, otherwise it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Have made this a few times for the whole family and they love it, even the kids. I have substituted low sodium tomatoes to cut back on the salt. The lack of juice does certainly not affect the flavor as there is plenty of moisture in the vegetables as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was amazing! I didn't drain the tomatoes, as was recommended. I also used Great Northern instead of cannellini beans and saved a little bit of the bean juice to add to the sauce. For extra flavor I added a splash of red wine, and I used red pepper flakes instead of the thyme. Served with rice, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akai57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a good recipe for a potluck or a family meal. The ingredients are inexpensive,it is easy to fix and everyone likes the way it tastes! I serve it with real crunchy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this during the holidays. I chose it because my grown kids and their families like recipies with garlic. They really liked it. I would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Easy. Yummy. I have made this many, many times and throw in whatever beans or whatever tomatoes I have on hand. Try adding corn, salsa, creamed corn or jalepeno too. Serve with rice and a side salad and you have a feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
A good recipe - quick and easy! Couldn't find cannellini beans so I used Great Northern. I also used 1 lb. hot sausage, and I didn't drain the tomatoes. I omitted the thyme and only had 1 bay leaf. Could use a little more liquid, but all in all a good recipe - tastes somewhat like French Market Soup but without the day long cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States