Quick Cantonese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I took the suggestions and used less onion. I also added 1 Tbsp of red wine vinegar and 1 tsp of red chili paste. The chili paste gives it some nice heat. Without it, the sauce may be a little blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I was in need of a quick stir fry sauce for my veggies. I made this one last night (without the onions and tomatoes). It was extremely easy and quick. My only substitutions were splenda for the regular sugar, and ground ginger because I didn't have fresh ginger on hand. Mixed everything in a small bowl, microwaved it for a minute and poured over my veggies. My husband said it was the best veggies I've ever made (and they were from frozen!). He had THREE HELPINGS and asked for me to make this again today. Thank you for the quick, easy, and tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Definitely a keeper! I thought 2 onions would be too much after finely dicing one and seeing how much was there. One onion was perfect. Also 1 tsp of garlic would never be enough for me, so I just minced up 2 nice sized cloves and threw them in. Powdered ginger was a fine replacement for the root, but I can't wait to make this again with the fresh stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was an okay sauce. If I make it again I will add a bit of red pepper flakes and maybe more ginger. I only had one tblsp of soy sauce so i used 1.5 tblsp of bragg's liquid aminos and a tblsp of rice vinegar to make up for it. The flavor was nice on my noodles, broccoli, squash and bell pepper, just rather bland. I think this is a good base flavor to add to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
It was quick, but I didn't find it to be very flavorful. It was bland. I followed others reviews and reduced the amount of oil and onion. In the end I added more soy and some wine and that made it edible. But, that said, the receipe was not what I was looking for nor will I use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This sauce was okay, but nothing to really rave about. It was too oily -- 5 tablespoons was too much! I would use this recipe again, as it was simply and quick, but I would sub 1 tablespoon oil for an extra tablespoon soy sauce. Also, I only used one whole onion and that was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I used this sauce when I had a bunch of vegetable left-overs in the fridge. Made a great stir-fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
fairly close to what I make :) I would suggest trying corn or canola oil instead of olive oil, to me the olive oil added an off balance taste. For a little bit of an earthier tasting sauce try using just a tiny bit of sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is really good! I omit the tomatoes and use it with broccoli, red peppers, onions, and stir fry noodles. I add lots of fresh garlic cloves. We love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was very good! We had a late dinner so we were looking for something quick. We threw this in with ground turkey, bamboo shoots, baby corn, and water chestnuts and served over rice. Also used only 1 onion, diced canned tomatoes, and powdered ginger. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States