Quick Camping Pineapple Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made one change--when I made the topping, I used 1/4 cup brown sugar, four tablespoons flour, four tablespoons butter and a quarter cup pecans. I sprinkled the topping over each individual "cake". I wasn't camping when I made this--the kids and I made this in the foil packets but baked them on a cookie sheet in a 350* degree oven for about 20 minutes. This was incredibly easy to assemble and it was a big hit with everyone, even the adults. I served each "cake" with a dollop of Cool Whip. Excellent "pantry" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
My 16 year old daughter made this for the family while camping. It was delicious. We used less pineapple than called for but it was still a wonderful treat and a nice change of pace from s'mores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by booklady2005
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
what a refreshing change from the standard s'more! The first time I tried it didn't go so well. After following the instructions they burned. So 10 minutes in the embers is just too much. A few minutes on the grate not directly over a flame works very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
A total hit with the grandkids and a nice change from somore's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were pretty good, but we didn't care to much for the smokey flavor. Do not put them in flames!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalubell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These were a big hit! I forgot the cherries and pecans when we went camping, so just made them without and they were gobbled up. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
So good and so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
really really really good idea. Super simple. The cakes took no time at all to heat up in the coals, ours were very hot, I think I didn't even leave them on 3 minutes, as soon as you hear steam and bubbling, they're done... and the sugar on the foil caramelizes and it's a real treat when you're out in the middle of nowhere. Fantastic idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I am the poster of the recipe…here are some “Side Notes” - You can find the sponge cakes in the bakery and/or produce department. They're typically used to make strawberry shortcakes. Also, the can of crushed pineapple did not contain enough juice on our last trip, so I used some of the liquid from the jar that the maraschino cherries came in. Also, some clarification on the cooking, you’ll want to pull embers from the main part of the fire and not cook directly in the campfire(I do about 95% of my camp cooking via the campfire). I have an adjoining ring branched off the main fire where I pull embers and do my cooking..either using a grate (pots/skillet) or cooking in the embers (foil packs, corn/potatoes, dutch oven). You can regulate the temp a little better this way..adding more embers or taking embers away if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States