Quick Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These were so good! The kids devoured them! I did alter the recipe though. Here is what I did: 1. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. 2. Roll over the crescent rolls a bit to flatten them out. 3. Do not put sauce inside. I used jarred pizza sauce to dip them in when done. 4. Bake 10 minutes, then flip them over and bake for 5 more. The came out golden brown all over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
i thought this recipe was great. it was quick, easy, and absolutely tasty. i loved the sweetness that the crescent rolls gave to the dish. i wasn't able to do the rectangle part of the directions, due to a spontaneous dough explosion on the drive home. however, it was easy enough to reshape the dough and go from there. i will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetracee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
quick and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Although this was easy and convenient, it was nowhere near as good as proper calzones - the crescent roll dough is just too sweet and crumbly. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Kids loved it and it was very easy - but it's hard not to compare with my favorite Calzones at a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was fast and pretty good, but the logistics were off as far as preparations go, and this is clearly not anything like an authentic calzone. We used one can of crescent rolls to make 2 calzones. We filled them with veggies and cheese, and had a hard time sealing them. I thought they would be oozing out all over the baking sheet, but they actually didn't. We also made our own pizza sauce instead of using the sauce in the recipe. I would make these again if I had the ingredients on hand, and needed something quick, but not as a means to fill a craving for a calzone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
These turned out to be very yummy! I baked them an extra 4-5 minutes and probably could have cooked them even a bit longer. I added mushrooms and next time will add sausage as well. My husband LOVED them- definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were very good and went over very well especially with the kids. A little messy to make but that's half the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great recipe when you have very little time - I can whip these up quickly and the kids can eat them on the run. You do have to be careful not to over-fill or they're difficult to seal shut, but it's a good quick meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe. It really just tasted like an inexpensive pizza (almost like frozen). I even tried using fresh mozzarella and well it just wasn't something I think we will make again. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States