Quick Butter Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
While delicious, these aren't really croissants. They're missing those lovely layers that make croissants what they are! It hasn't stopped the children and I from eating an embarrassing amount of them, and I know they'll be popular with guests... it's just that I was looking for a shortcut to the authentic thing. I'll keep looking, but then again maybe there isn't one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I suggest using this dough as a base for cheese danish. I use 8oz.cream cheese, 1/4 c.sugar, 4 Tb.cornstarch & 1 egg for the cheese filling. Just combine the ingredients, roll out the dough, fill the center. cut one inch strips on each side then fold. Let it rise for 2 to 2-1/2 hours before baking. For added flavour you may top the cheese filling with any kind of fruit jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I really enjoyed making these croissants. I did not refrigerate them for four hours as I did not have so much time. I stuck them in the deep-freezer for 30 mins and they taste and look perfect. A sure recipe I will share with my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've used this recipe for years, especially for holiday meals. My family loves them. I would never attempt to make croissants the real way, with all the folding of the pastry, but this recipe gives good results with much less work. If you want authentic croissants, then I think you have to make them the 'authentic' way, so don't make these and complain that they aren't authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! So light and fluffy. Not as fluffy as the tradition croissant... but I haven't been able to master that yet. It really does have the taste and feel of a croissant though, so that satisfies me! I only baked 8 croissants and am freezing the rest so I can have them freshly baked when I feel like it. Just freeze them in their croissant shape and then on the day you want to bake them take them out a couple of hours ahead of time to thaw and rise. Also, beat 1 Tbsp of water with the egg before brushing it on... it makes a better glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I'm sure the author had good intentions, but this recipe was not great. The instructions were vague and therefore my croissants turned out to be more like hotdog buns than nice flaky pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Being a croissant junky, though a good dough, this is more like a canned crescent roll. This dough is wonderful and versatile though. I made strombolies with it and the butter and garlic over the top made it scrumptious. I made sweet rolls and just plain old bread with dinner rolls. Great dough, but if you were expecting the butter croissant you get at your local pastry shop or coffee cafe, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I have never in my life made any kind of pastry so to start off with croissants was a challenge for me. These turned out to be INCREDIBLE. My family and myself were extremely impressed with these and I plan on making them again very soon. Someone said that the instructions were vague but it all worked out very well for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
delightful. not fluffy like in the store, but everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
To make the whole proccess “quick” put the dough in the deep freezer for 30 minutes, as others suggested. To make the dough workable add ½ cup of flour. Fill the triangles with 2-3 pieces of dark chocolate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States