Quick Butter Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are delicious! The dough is easy to work with and they turn out beautiful. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick? Yes these are quick compared to a true croissant which is butter/fold/roll butter/fold/roll over and over adnausium. I have been delighting guests with these for fourty years. There aren't many "quick" recipes that turn out as well as this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
True these criossants arn't made like traditional croissants(the butter is actually "laminated" or folded into the dough to create layers) but the ingrediants are basically the same therefore create the same buttery yummy taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I suggest using this dough as a base for cheese danish. I use 8oz.cream cheese, 1/4 c.sugar, 4 Tb.cornstarch & 1 egg for the cheese filling. Just combine the ingredients, roll out the dough, fill the center. cut one inch strips on each side then fold. Let it rise for 2 to 2-1/2 hours before baking. For added flavour you may top the cheese filling with any kind of fruit jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! So light and fluffy. Not as fluffy as the tradition croissant... but I haven't been able to master that yet. It really does have the taste and feel of a croissant though, so that satisfies me! I only baked 8 croissants and am freezing the rest so I can have them freshly baked when I feel like it. Just freeze them in their croissant shape and then on the day you want to bake them take them out a couple of hours ahead of time to thaw and rise. Also, beat 1 Tbsp of water with the egg before brushing it on... it makes a better glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've used this recipe for years, especially for holiday meals. My family loves them. I would never attempt to make croissants the real way, with all the folding of the pastry, but this recipe gives good results with much less work. If you want authentic croissants, then I think you have to make them the 'authentic' way, so don't make these and complain that they aren't authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These croissants are delicious. It has become a family tradition to serve them at holiday meals. The fact that the dough is started the night before is really helpful during the last minute rush of meal preparations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I have never in my life made any kind of pastry so to start off with croissants was a challenge for me. These turned out to be INCREDIBLE. My family and myself were extremely impressed with these and I plan on making them again very soon. Someone said that the instructions were vague but it all worked out very well for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
delightful. not fluffy like in the store, but everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
While delicious, these aren't really croissants. They're missing those lovely layers that make croissants what they are! It hasn't stopped the children and I from eating an embarrassing amount of them, and I know they'll be popular with guests... it's just that I was looking for a shortcut to the authentic thing. I'll keep looking, but then again maybe there isn't one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States