Quick Butter Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I have never in my life made any kind of pastry so to start off with croissants was a challenge for me. These turned out to be INCREDIBLE. My family and myself were extremely impressed with these and I plan on making them again very soon. Someone said that the instructions were vague but it all worked out very well for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These croissants are delicious. It has become a family tradition to serve them at holiday meals. The fact that the dough is started the night before is really helpful during the last minute rush of meal preparations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I suggest using this dough as a base for cheese danish. I use 8oz.cream cheese, 1/4 c.sugar, 4 Tb.cornstarch & 1 egg for the cheese filling. Just combine the ingredients, roll out the dough, fill the center. cut one inch strips on each side then fold. Let it rise for 2 to 2-1/2 hours before baking. For added flavour you may top the cheese filling with any kind of fruit jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've used this recipe for years, especially for holiday meals. My family loves them. I would never attempt to make croissants the real way, with all the folding of the pastry, but this recipe gives good results with much less work. If you want authentic croissants, then I think you have to make them the 'authentic' way, so don't make these and complain that they aren't authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! So light and fluffy. Not as fluffy as the tradition croissant... but I haven't been able to master that yet. It really does have the taste and feel of a croissant though, so that satisfies me! I only baked 8 croissants and am freezing the rest so I can have them freshly baked when I feel like it. Just freeze them in their croissant shape and then on the day you want to bake them take them out a couple of hours ahead of time to thaw and rise. Also, beat 1 Tbsp of water with the egg before brushing it on... it makes a better glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I rated this recipe a few months ago and just made it for the second time, and I needed to change it to a 5 from a 4, it is really easy and delicious. This time I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge as the recipe stated and I divided one half of the dough into 8 triangles for sandwich sized rolls and served with chicken salad, which was perfectly delicious. The other half of the dough I did into 16 triangles and rolled up with chocolate chips inside for a dessert - yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick? Yes these are quick compared to a true croissant which is butter/fold/roll butter/fold/roll over and over adnausium. I have been delighting guests with these for fourty years. There aren't many "quick" recipes that turn out as well as this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are delicious! The dough is easy to work with and they turn out beautiful. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I used milk instead of evaporated milk. After cooking them I told you if it was a mistake or not. And If you come to the Patagonia Argentina just let me know because we have an inn over there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are great. Much easier than the traditional and, if done right, just as flaky. Best to use pastry knife to get the flour and the butter properly mixed. Sifting the flour also helps the texture. Family loves these. I start them in the evening and roll them out in the morning. House smells like a bakery when everyone gets up. I’m the early riser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States