Quick Butter Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is from a 1973 Sunset magazine cookbook. I have used it since that time and gotten nothing but rave reviews and I am continually asked to bring these to holiday dinners, etc. The variations are endless, but a favorite is to put some of your favorite chocolate on the dough before you roll it up...yum..!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very good! Everyone at work is begging me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
To make more like canned croissants, skip the rise and bake for only 10-12 minutes! Best and easiest croissant recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
To make the whole proccess “quick” put the dough in the deep freezer for 30 minutes, as others suggested. To make the dough workable add ½ cup of flour. Fill the triangles with 2-3 pieces of dark chocolate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are great. Much easier than the traditional and, if done right, just as flaky. Best to use pastry knife to get the flour and the butter properly mixed. Sifting the flour also helps the texture. Family loves these. I start them in the evening and roll them out in the morning. House smells like a bakery when everyone gets up. I’m the early riser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I used milk instead of evaporated milk. After cooking them I told you if it was a mistake or not. And If you come to the Patagonia Argentina just let me know because we have an inn over there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
i really liked this recipe, they turned out fluffy and my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I found the dough dry and difficult to work with. They came out dense and tasted like a biscuit. It was not worth the time and trouble it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I didn't have a lot of time, so I skipped the lenghty period that the dough was supposed to spend in the fridge. They were fine without it, though not very flaky or croissant-like. I also put raspberry jam and fresh raspberries in it, and they were great. I wouldn't suggest skipping the chilling time, unless you are in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I rated this recipe a few months ago and just made it for the second time, and I needed to change it to a 5 from a 4, it is really easy and delicious. This time I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge as the recipe stated and I divided one half of the dough into 8 triangles for sandwich sized rolls and served with chicken salad, which was perfectly delicious. The other half of the dough I did into 16 triangles and rolled up with chocolate chips inside for a dessert - yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States