Quick Brussels and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was delicious! My family didn't think they liked brussel sprouts, but these were a hit at Christmas Eve dinner. I did make one addition to the recipe. I added a bit of brown sugar to them. I knew the kids would like them better that way and they were very good. I didn't use a lot, just a bit for a subtle sweetness. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YuM!!! i suggest doing what the recipe submitter said in her review *two down* and using the bacon grease the onions and sprouts in. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
We absolutely loved this recipe for brussels. Did not change a thing and everyone said they did not like brussels but they all wanted the recipe for them before leaving the house. Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
We eat a lot of brussel sprouts. This was an easy, tasty way to serve these delightful little packages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Just a short note from the author that in my original submission there was no olive oil. Just use a small amount of the bacon grease and also add salt and pepper to taste. Thanks for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I enjoy this recipe, however... I ended up making a few changes to make it spectacular. The second time around I used a pat of butter, chicken broth and a clove of garlic minced. Even people that don't like Brussel sprouts loved it. Caramelizing the brussel sprouts changes the flavor slightly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was SOOOOO good! I used 8 slices of bacon instead, and also used 1 red onion instead. Also, I used the tiny frozen brussels- found that they have a bit of extra sweetness and tenderness which balanced out well with the bacon and onion. This has become a favorite side dish of my family... and now my daughters will finally eat brussel sprouts. Kudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunlevy, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I love sprouts in general, but stir fried is a favorite in our house. This was a tasty recipe. Rather than cook the sprouts before hand, I added them raw to the bacon and added a little chicken stock. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I thought these were a very tasty way of serving brussel sprouts. Who doesn't like bacon in anything? I used fresh sprouts. They usually come in a 10 oz. tub. I used 2 shallots (plenty) and 4 pieces of bacon. I boiled the sprouts before putting in the pan of bacon grease (no I did not use a second pan with olive oil). It was enough for four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Frozen Brussels sprouts need a little help and this is a quick and tasty way to do it. I followed the recipe's author's suggestion and just used the bacon fat instead of adding olive oil. Just be careful not to neglect them if you've got several things going at once...there's a fine line between browned and burnt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States