Quick Brownbag Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I made these and immediately froze them (wrapped in wax paper and then put in freezer bag). I pulled them out, left them in the fridge overnight to defrost and then heated them in the over at 250 for about 35 minutes. They were great. Didn't taste like they had been frozen at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe. I fixed it for dinner instead of lunches. I used sundried tomato & basil tortillas. They turned out delicious! And it's very fast too. This is a keeper for me. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
We made these and thought they were wonderful! I used a can of diced tomatoes & green chilis (drained) instead of salsa, and added a small can of corn, and some sour cream. They were so delicious and super easy to make. My husband wanted to eat the mixture right out of the pan! Definately a good break from meat now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cache Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I've been making these basic burritos for a long time (except w/rice too), and they are always good! Also good w/cheddar, and sometimes I add 1/2 can of corn OR 1/2 can or white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Very quick and tasty. My kids added a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This is a good bag lunch recipe... easy, healthy, tasty, filling... just what I am always looking for. And it can be easily adjusted to your taste. I filled my tortillas full, so it only made 3 for me (!), and I also added fresh spinach leaves and cut back on the cheese, eating these cold for lunch. The quality of these would depend largely on the quality of your salsa, and you could also perk them up with your faves (extra veggies, lettuce, tomato, cilantro... I'll be trying some variations).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
These were good! I made them exactly as directed, but I found I only had enough for about 5 burritos. I think I used tortillas a little larger than called for. definitely good stuff, and just spicy enough (i used medium, chunky salsa). i added finely chopped onions, both to the bean mix as it cooked and to the final product. I recommend adding whatever veggies you have around too; I made them again last night and added some black-eyed peas and corn that I had leftover, and they were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
People don't believe me when I tell them how easy it is to make these. Pace Medium Picante Sauce is my favorite salsa to use for this. If you have any leftover chicken it's also really good shredded on top of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Awesome! We made these tonight for the first time, and it took hardly any time at all before dinner was ready. I made mine with spinach herb tortillas, and my husband used regular ones. Instead of making several small burritos, we each made a large one, and they were fantastic! We used organic, fat free black beans and El Paso Garden Peppers salsa (although that gives the mixture a bit of a sweet taste). We also added low fat sour cream to the mixture to make it creamier and used plenty of cheese. The result was a wonderful mixture of flavors that we have officially deemed better than our favorite local hip burrito cafe that we're always raving about. Thanks for such a great time-saving and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a very good quickie recipe as written! Add some sauteed onions and fresh tomato and corn and it is a very nice dinner! Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States