Quick Brownbag Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
A good recipe. Very easy provided you have everything you need in the house. We don't usually keep salsa in the house, which means I have to run out to the store, but the actually cooking is very simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
brilliant! great for quick dinners. Not great for my kids who aren't into spicy but me and my husband lvoed them. I substituted in hotsauce instead of chili powder (I was out of c.p!) but you can't really go wrong woth these if you like spicy food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe. I fixed it for dinner instead of lunches. I used sundried tomato & basil tortillas. They turned out delicious! And it's very fast too. This is a keeper for me. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Very quick and tasty. My kids added a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Wow! So good and so fast and easy. Definately will be used a lot in my home. I particularly like the fact that they can be wrapped, put in refrigerator and eaten cold the next day (Yummy. They're great to make ahead to take for lunch!! Thanks, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Quick and easy. Very good and the flavor can be changed depending on the type of salsa used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
It was alright. My husband and I didn't enjoy the black bean flavor so much. We found it too strong. Not the flavor we are used to. It was quick and easy though, so we may try using refried beans and hope for results that we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I LOVE this recipe!! Very quick and easy. . . I omitted the cumin and it tasted even better! Make sure the salsa is chunky otherwise it can be very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Awesome! We made these tonight for the first time, and it took hardly any time at all before dinner was ready. I made mine with spinach herb tortillas, and my husband used regular ones. Instead of making several small burritos, we each made a large one, and they were fantastic! We used organic, fat free black beans and El Paso Garden Peppers salsa (although that gives the mixture a bit of a sweet taste). We also added low fat sour cream to the mixture to make it creamier and used plenty of cheese. The result was a wonderful mixture of flavors that we have officially deemed better than our favorite local hip burrito cafe that we're always raving about. Thanks for such a great time-saving and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
These were good! I made them exactly as directed, but I found I only had enough for about 5 burritos. I think I used tortillas a little larger than called for. definitely good stuff, and just spicy enough (i used medium, chunky salsa). i added finely chopped onions, both to the bean mix as it cooked and to the final product. I recommend adding whatever veggies you have around too; I made them again last night and added some black-eyed peas and corn that I had leftover, and they were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States