Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe. I altered the way it was cooked because I didn't have any minute rice on hand. I used regular brown rice and a rice cooker. I added two lumps of chicken boullion to the water I normally would use to cook the rice. When it was nearly cooked through, I added the chopped onion to the rice cooker, and then a few minutes later I added the mushrooms (I skipped the celery because I didn't have any). The flavor of the rice is great with the mushrooms. I added the parsley and walnuts afterwards. Delicious. I'd make this again, it's healthy, and really improves the taste of boring plain brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKABATEMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My family loved this brown rice recipe. I added some sodium free chicken instant bouillon to cut down on the sodium content. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great recipe! My grocery store was out of Minute Brown Rice so I bought Success Boil-in-Bag, cut open 2 bags, and simmered for 10 minutes. Went well with my grilled kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Quick, easy, delicious and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe recently and loved it. I did not make any changes to it. I would reccomend low sodium broth just to cut out the sodium. Overall it was simple and quick to make and very tasty. I used baby bella mushrooms and the recipe had a great nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mitchell McGeown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This had great flavor even though I didn't have any mushrooms on hand. I will definitely make again when I need an easy rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
What a wonderful flavor! I didn't change a thing and it tasted great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Made this as part of a company meal and everyone thought it was delicious. The toasted walnuts add just the right amount of crunch and flavor. I followed the recipe with the following changes: added 2 full cups of broth, and instead of the Minute Rice used 2 packages of Success boil in a bag brown rice, emptying the packages right into the skillet to cook in with the other ingredients. One of my guests plans to incorporate this recipe into the buffet menu they serve at their Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States