Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe. I altered the way it was cooked because I didn't have any minute rice on hand. I used regular brown rice and a rice cooker. I added two lumps of chicken boullion to the water I normally would use to cook the rice. When it was nearly cooked through, I added the chopped onion to the rice cooker, and then a few minutes later I added the mushrooms (I skipped the celery because I didn't have any). The flavor of the rice is great with the mushrooms. I added the parsley and walnuts afterwards. Delicious. I'd make this again, it's healthy, and really improves the taste of boring plain brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKABATEMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great taste, but next time I'll use regular brown rice instead of quick rice for the rice its self was a bit lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe recently and loved it. I did not make any changes to it. I would reccomend low sodium broth just to cut out the sodium. Overall it was simple and quick to make and very tasty. I used baby bella mushrooms and the recipe had a great nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My family loved this brown rice recipe. I added some sodium free chicken instant bouillon to cut down on the sodium content. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made some substitutions to this recipe, but it still came out great! It was my first time making a pilaf. I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had in the house. The biggest change I made was using regular brown rice. I started it in the rice maker, but when there was 10 minutes left on it, I stopped it to finish it as the recipe states. It turned out just fine! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe made it tonight. Did not have minute rice so used long grain brown added more broth to 2 cups of rice and also added carrots. took longer about 20 minutes but very good. thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
we enjoyed this dish served with salmon. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms, so I subbed in canned whole baby mushrooms instead, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I loved this recipe. I did make a few changes. I used fresh chicken broth to avoid the extra sodium. I sauteed the onions, mushrooms, red pepper, and celery in olive oil and fresh pepper first and then added black beans.I didn't have walnuts but will definitely add them the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
excellent!!!!! My family absolutely loved this dish. will definetly make this again. only change I made was to omit the walnuts and add 1/2 cup of diced carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cliffside, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great recipe! My grocery store was out of Minute Brown Rice so I bought Success Boil-in-Bag, cut open 2 bags, and simmered for 10 minutes. Went well with my grilled kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States