Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used TJ brown rice and cooked for 3 minutes and then added to the skillet.It could use a little more spice. Maybe more onions. I just threw in a few handfulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Made this as part of a company meal and everyone thought it was delicious. The toasted walnuts add just the right amount of crunch and flavor. I followed the recipe with the following changes: added 2 full cups of broth, and instead of the Minute Rice used 2 packages of Success boil in a bag brown rice, emptying the packages right into the skillet to cook in with the other ingredients. One of my guests plans to incorporate this recipe into the buffet menu they serve at their Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I rated 4 stars because it needs a little more chicken broth like some of the other comments suggested. I will add more next time I cook this. It will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I cook probably once every 5 years or so (yes YEARS...), I wanted to do something to help wifey, but it had to be quick and easy. This was both; someone with experience chopping stuff could do this in about 15 minutes. I left out the nuts, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great recipe! My grocery store was out of Minute Brown Rice so I bought Success Boil-in-Bag, cut open 2 bags, and simmered for 10 minutes. Went well with my grilled kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was looking for a way to use fresh crimini mushrooms, before they went bad, and came across this rice dish. As I did not have all the ingredients, on hand, I had to make a couple of substitutions. I used scallions instead of onions and wild rice instead of instant brown. Oh, I also toasted the walnuts. Even with the substitutions this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
What a wonderful flavor! I didn't change a thing and it tasted great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great taste, but next time I'll use regular brown rice instead of quick rice for the rice its self was a bit lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States