Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great recipe made it tonight. Did not have minute rice so used long grain brown added more broth to 2 cups of rice and also added carrots. took longer about 20 minutes but very good. thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
excellent!!!!! My family absolutely loved this dish. will definetly make this again. only change I made was to omit the walnuts and add 1/2 cup of diced carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cliffside, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
LOVE IT! My favorite brown rice recipe ever!!!!! Just added a little more mushrooms than the recipe asked for - otherwise kept it the same. Thank you for the wonderful recipe - this is a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This Pilaf was delicious. I hesitated about using the walnuts but they were great. Definatly try this recipe. I gave four stars because I used 2.5 cups cooked brown rice instead of the Minute Rice. I don't know how well it would have turned out as written. Great side dish. I am thinking about adding chicken to make it a one dish meal. Great way to eat brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was okay. Honestly there was almost no flavor. I love the mushrooms is there but it needs some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
we enjoyed this dish served with salmon. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms, so I subbed in canned whole baby mushrooms instead, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was a very Fall looking dish. I noticed a lot of the reviews said the rice needed more water. So, I added more until it looked fluffy. I left my walnuts under the broiler too long and had to made the second batch with pecans. I'm sure walnuts, pecans or almonds would all work well. The whole family enjoyed this dish! (served along with salmon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Found the rice was not fully cooked, and really didn't like the walnuts....would maybe make again but with a number of alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I was leery because of the instant rice. This was amazing! I ate it for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States