Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used regular long cook brown rice and cooked it first. I thought the extras would lose a lot of their flavor during the long cooking process. Tasted great. I will surely keep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettysoldier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Family loved it .. followed the direction to a ' T ' and it was delicious .. very simple dish to prepare. Love to see dishes where you can find the ingredients right off the store shelves .. served with a baked lemon salmon. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is good but not great. I added a little salt and some soy sauce which made it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I should've gone with other reviewers on this and used regular rice instead of instant. My family thought the rice was great, but I didn't like the rice quality at all. I did substitute chopped almonds for the walnuts since I had them on hand and walnuts make a family member sick. Good flavor - just word to the wise: buy regular rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sourgurl758

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I thought this was very good, but my family was not too impressed. It was a lot tastier the next day reheated and my husband liked it better too. I like how healthy it is. I will make this again and hope my family takes a shine too it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My first rice pilaf.... It turned out good. I didn't have instant so I cooked the rice most of the way first, It didn't end up dry like i had hoped but that was probably my error..... I will definitely use this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
A great way to perk up bland brown rice. And don't skip the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My husband loved this! Made it as a side dish for Grilled Halibut and it was a wonderful pairing. I didn't have minute rice but had frozen brown rice. I doubled the recipe and used 4 cups pre-prepared brown rice and only one can of chicken broth. I simmered until almost all of the liquid was absorbed. It came out PERFECT!! The toasted walnuts are so good in this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
i made it by the directions. I only subbed low sodium broth. Everyone loved it, however my youngest did pick out the mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States