Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I give it 5 stars for the mix itself. I have been using this mix recipe to make muffins for years, however I do not use Helen's actual bread recipe though. Also I did cut down the salt to 3 teaspoons, I have experimented and here are some of my favorites. Zucchini muffins In mixing bowl whisk together 2 eggs,1/2 cup water or milk, 1/4 cup veg or canola oil, 2 teaspoon vanilla,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, then with a wooden soon stir in 3 cups of mix, then stir in 2 cups grated zucchini, then stir in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans and 1/2 cup mini choc chips. place in sprayed 12 count muffin tin,they will be very full, bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 22 to 26 minutes depending on your oven, you can make them smaller just adjust the cooking time. For pumpkin muffins just replace the zucchini with 1 cup of canned cooked pumpkin(not pumpkin pie filling) For chocolate chip use 3/4 cup of water or milk and 3/4 cup choc chips and 3/4 c of chopped nuts in place of fruit or vegetable. I find the the liquid amount to add will vary with the type of fruit used. I have also made the mix with 8 cups all purpose flour and 4 cups of wheat flour. Hope these work out for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very quick easy bread. One of the better tasting breads I made in a while. I threw in some left over ingredients (pumpkin, walnuts and cranberry) I had and it turned out wonderful.I also topped it off with the 6 flavor sugar glaze found on this site and my family loved it. The bread was good with or without the glaze. I doubt I'll use any other bread recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had my students try this recipe, but to dry, we tried milk and somewhat better but still an issue with the recipe, I don't recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
VERY dry, the amount on this recipe are way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I think those who are having trouble with the moisture may not be using vegetable puree, perhaps. I used carrots (cooked and then blended) for the veggie, and added to the mixture a few grapes that were thinking of becoming wine, which made up for the dryness of the dried cranberries also used in my muffins. I would have made bread, but found I did not have the correct size pans. I will try various versions of this one. Since it has white sugar, I do not think it would be suitable for savory muffins, however; I stopped short of trying savory. Good save! (I imagine.) 2nd day note: The muffins (now room temp) seem a bit oily. I think a little less oil would make for a lighter, but still moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I love this recipe! I always keep it on hand, but I've found if I add one of those pre-made cups of applesauce to it, or puree a banana and put in the mix when I go to bake it, it comes out much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I haven't made this - just wanted to thank Helen for the basic mix, it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is the best! Thank you for sharing. I've never baked a bread successfully - this one was PERFECT! Added a tin of crushed pineapple (was all that I had in the cupboard). It turned out brilliantly. Hubby took a few slices to work & shared it with some of his work mates. As a result I've got a few orders to fill this weekend. And we have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowfreeze_Sorbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I make this and keep it for making muffins adding whatever fruit, chips, nuts, etc. that i feel like having at the time. I did use half wheat flour and splenda blend for sugar. Husband and grandkids can't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States