Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Quick, easy, nutricious, and delicious!! I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
Very quick and very easy. I used diced, peeled canned tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes because that's all I had on hand, still quite tasty, and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This recipe is full of flavor, especially easy, and happily heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Extremely straightforward, simple, and tasty; plus, it doesn't require any fancy ingredients. Also reheats well - I mixed it with chunky salsa. Will definitely have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This was easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
An easy and delicious recipe. My whole family loved it. I served the beans seperate from the rice so everyone could choose how much they wanted. Next time, I think I will make double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I was looking for something quick, tasty, and nutritious to make tonight...with ingredients I had on hand and this absolutely fit the bill!! I did have to change things up quite a bit, but it was a great jumping off point...something I probably never would have come up with. I cooked the beans seperatley on the stove top: 1 can of beans a little over 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp sugar, and a dash of cumin....simmered this for about 15 minutes while the rice cooked (cooked seperatley as well). After the rice was done, I mixed in a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies (no stewed tom's on hand), garlic powder, and beans (I didn't use any onion because I didn't have any). So good! And SO flavorful (for those of you complaining about no flavor!)...and the best part about it, these are all ingredients I will ALWAYS have on my shelf, and I don't have to worry about the freshness of ingredients...this is KEY when you're a working college student like myself!! I KNOW this will become a ritual when I can't afford groceries! Cheap to make, as well!! Thanks so much for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Yummy, quick dish. I added red jalapenos and tabasco and there was no lack of flavor! Also, I didn't have instant brown rice, so I made the rice separately and served the bean mixture on top of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
SOOOO good! I used fresh garlic instead of powder. I lengthened the simmering time since the water from the tomatoes was a lot. Absoutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Excellent! I substituted diced tomatoes with green chilis and added cumin. Quick, easy, so delicious - very good with the chicken & cheese enchiladas I served them with and also left over rolled up in a tortilla with cheese melted on top. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States