Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
The flavor and aroma was really good, but the rice came out too hard. I'll try this again but will need to adjust the cooking times (or cook the rice separately).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I didn't think this was going to be anything special, but I was wrong. I made this a little different, because I prepared the rice first, then added the rinsed beans and diced tomatoes. This made quite a lot and I'm sure will be just as good left over. Good for you and good... that's what I like ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is really delicious! I don't care for brown rice OR black beans, but this recipe sounded like something my husband would like, so I made it for him. Surprise ... I really like it! My super-picky 12 year old even liked it! Like some other reviewers, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil; added minced garlic with the onion; and added cumin, cayenne, salt & pepper. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I'm sorry, we didn't really like this. I served it in tortillas and it was pretty bland. I think you would need to add lots of spices and some meat. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm sitting on my couch eating this right now and it is soooo good. I was hungry for something with black beans, rice and onion and this is the recipe I found. I used white rice because I didn't have any brown rice, and although I had stewed tomatoes, I chose to use diced tomatoes. I also used about a tsp of minced garlic along with the called for garlic powder. (I like garlic!) Finally, I added about 1/3 tsp cumin. This is so healthy and really hits the spot. I think I could eat the whole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
As is, this recipe is a wonderful base to a fantastic side/meal. I found that I needed to add a few spices (cayenne, cumin, more garlic) to make it taste alright. I also just cooked the rice and then added the tomatoes and beans in with the rice - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I actually used another recipe from this site, but came across this one afterward, and realized it was a little closer to what I had made. I used a can of diced tomatoes, as it was all I has on hand. I added about 1/2 a red pepper as well as some cumin, chili powder and red pepper flaked. A little boring, but very economical and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I was worried it might come out mushy after reading some other reviews. So when the timer went off and it was a little on the dry side with the rice not totally done I was suprised. I added 3tablespoons of water and gave it another five minutes. It was perfect!!! My family loved it, it is cheap too. I will certainly make this a regular meal at my house. Thank you for this lovely, simple recipe. Note: recipe says four servings, well it fed all four of us twice and it was the total meal served only with a half ear of corn as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Such a tasty recipe and so good for you too! The only thing I did differently was using fresh garlic then added add 1/2 tsps chili powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I was looking for an alternative to the Lipton Rice Sides that I use to complement main dishes. This dish tasted wonderful and my family loved it too. It didn't take much longer and does not have all the additives. I used white instant rice and used minced garlic instead of garlic salt and added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States