Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Turned out great! I cooked it a little differently. I cooked Basmati rice in broth until just slighly undercooked. Separately, in a skillet I cooked onion and green pepper in oil, added chopped garlic, a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, a can of black beans, and oregano. I let that simmer for a few minutes, then added the rice, turned the heat off and placed a lid on it. I let it sit for 5 minutes, just long enough for the rice to finish cooking while sitting there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My 11yr old liked it so it is a keeper. I put beans & tomatoes and seasoning in small crock pot. I was too lazy to cut up an onion so I just used onion powder. I made 10 minute rice separate and then mixed together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. Everyone loved it. I added ground turkey, chili pepper and cumin to make it more of a main dish. The next day I used it as a burrito filling, it was great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I was looking for some new healthy recipes for my daughter (almost 1 1/2) and came across this! I was very pleased! This was VERY easy to make and it had a good taste. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I always use this as a base for my burrito filling or chip dips. Yummy and fast and customizable - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I enjoyed this! I took the advice of other reviewers and used minced garlic in place of powder which I sauteed with the onion in olive oil. Also added some jarred jalapeno with it. Added tomatoes, beans and cumin for flavor. Very easy and delicious! Will make great leftovers in a burrito I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZGrebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
For the 1st time did the recipe as is & it made a healthy, easy, tasty side dish with some chicken soft tacos. I love easy & healthy dishes that I can make after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Replacing vegetable oil with olive, I added one chopped jalapeno pepper with onion then once they were tender, added tomatoes, oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1 tsp minced garlic and drained beans. The rice, I used used 1 cup regular brown rice, cooked in steamer for 45 mins then stirred into the bean tomato mixture after it simmered for about 5 mins. Served to husband on whole wheat tortillas with hot salsa and shredded cheese......He Loved It!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good for a simple side to a cuban pork roast I was making. I cooked my brown rice separately in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Photo by L's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a great side for the Cuban Midnight Sandwich. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a couple of minced garlic cloves in with the onion and also my black beans were Cuban style black beans, which had some peppers and other spices added. I also used instant white rice because that is what I had on hand. Since I had leftovers, I will add some chicken and make a burrito for dinner tomorrow evening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States