Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was very tasty. My 15 month old son loved it as well! I used garlic salt instead of powder and it still turned out very yummy and filling. I also ended up mixing in some cooked veggies (broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower) which was good. For those of you out there that do Weight Watchers the entire recipe is 32 Points Plus. It easily makes 4 very large servings which equate to 8 Points Plus per serving. Well worth it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Fantastic! I followed the basic ingreients and method, but I didn't have any garlic unfortunately. I also used Extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added chopped jalapenos. I like it spicy so I added more oregano, chilli powder, cumin and some crushed red pepper flakes. While cooking the rice, I only added a bit of water to get it started about half way, and then I added the patially cooked rice to the beans and tomato mixture. The rice absorbed the liquid nicely but it also left some sauce too. Perfect, will definitely going to make this often! I think it would be good to add a little bit of bacon, chicken or shrimp too! Great, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love this :) Just made it, and it came out amazingly. I only made a couple small changes, doubled the recipe but only made 2 cups of rice, added some crushed red pepper flakes, dried basil, and lots of fresh garlic (no powder). And just b/c it's what I had onhand, I used 1 can black beans and 1 can white northern beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Really good flavor. I didn't have quick rice so it took a bit longer to cook. I used chicken broth instead of water in the rice to add more flavor. I also used mexican stewed tomatoes with jalapenos and added hot peppers to give it some kick. I didn't add the rice to the mixture until the end and let it all simmer for about 5-7 mins. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCFORD70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this exactly like it was written. It was bland and had a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Hubby and kids liked this. This was a last minute addition to the menu and I didn't have Instant Brown Rice so I prepared White Long Grain in Low Sodium Chicken Stock in it's place. This worked out well. I felt it was a little bland so next time I will follow other reviews and add Cumin or other spices to brighten it up a little. We had this with Chicken Enchiladas and felt it went together very well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Turned out great! I cooked it a little differently. I cooked Basmati rice in broth until just slighly undercooked. Separately, in a skillet I cooked onion and green pepper in oil, added chopped garlic, a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, a can of black beans, and oregano. I let that simmer for a few minutes, then added the rice, turned the heat off and placed a lid on it. I let it sit for 5 minutes, just long enough for the rice to finish cooking while sitting there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My 11yr old liked it so it is a keeper. I put beans & tomatoes and seasoning in small crock pot. I was too lazy to cut up an onion so I just used onion powder. I made 10 minute rice separate and then mixed together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. Everyone loved it. I added ground turkey, chili pepper and cumin to make it more of a main dish. The next day I used it as a burrito filling, it was great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I was looking for some new healthy recipes for my daughter (almost 1 1/2) and came across this! I was very pleased! This was VERY easy to make and it had a good taste. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States