Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
With the onions I add mushrooms (I don't measure, just put about a 1/2 cup in). Also I put in minced garlic and let that cook with the veggies. I delete the tomatoes and add Worcestershire sauce (about a teaspoon) and Adobo seasoning (to taste). I use white rice instead of brown because that's what I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe! Super easy! I substituted fresh garlic for the garlic powder and instead of oregano, I added cilantro. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
made it with cooked basmati rice and added it at the last minute. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This dish was so yummy and easy!!! Even my boys who never eat tomatoes loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I loved this recipe! It very easy and made a good dinner with some guacamole and chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I use double the rice and add about 1/3 tsp cayenne for some kick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrimisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Quick and easy, tasty and nutritious, not to mention cheap. A real winner! I added pepper and chili peppers for some spicy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Added cumin. Used home canned tomatoes, brown rice (not instant), and kidney beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was very tasty. My 15 month old son loved it as well! I used garlic salt instead of powder and it still turned out very yummy and filling. I also ended up mixing in some cooked veggies (broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower) which was good. For those of you out there that do Weight Watchers the entire recipe is 32 Points Plus. It easily makes 4 very large servings which equate to 8 Points Plus per serving. Well worth it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Fantastic! I followed the basic ingreients and method, but I didn't have any garlic unfortunately. I also used Extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added chopped jalapenos. I like it spicy so I added more oregano, chilli powder, cumin and some crushed red pepper flakes. While cooking the rice, I only added a bit of water to get it started about half way, and then I added the patially cooked rice to the beans and tomato mixture. The rice absorbed the liquid nicely but it also left some sauce too. Perfect, will definitely going to make this often! I think it would be good to add a little bit of bacon, chicken or shrimp too! Great, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States