Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good but I added my own twist. I added chicken to the onion and garlic saute as well as cayenne pepper, ground cumin, and paprika. I also used 2 cans of black beans instead of one. After everything cooked together and the rice was done cooking I left the heat on low and added in 1 carton of quartered grape tomatoes. Then put the lid on just enough to soften and heat the tomatoes all the way through. Turned out as a delicious 1 pot meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sagamore Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy! I added 1/2 tsp. cumin, salt and pepper, 2 beef bouillon cubes, and about 6 dashes of Tobasco sauce. Also used 2 cans beans instead of just 1; made it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AubreeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Make this all the time! Quick, easy, delicious, you can't go wrong. I experiment using different spices and some fresh ingredients and it always comes out great. My new fav twist is to add a can of pink beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
With the onions I add mushrooms (I don't measure, just put about a 1/2 cup in). Also I put in minced garlic and let that cook with the veggies. I delete the tomatoes and add Worcestershire sauce (about a teaspoon) and Adobo seasoning (to taste). I use white rice instead of brown because that's what I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe! Super easy! I substituted fresh garlic for the garlic powder and instead of oregano, I added cilantro. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
made it with cooked basmati rice and added it at the last minute. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This dish was so yummy and easy!!! Even my boys who never eat tomatoes loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I loved this recipe! It very easy and made a good dinner with some guacamole and chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I use double the rice and add about 1/3 tsp cayenne for some kick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrimisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Quick and easy, tasty and nutritious, not to mention cheap. A real winner! I added pepper and chili peppers for some spicy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States