Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and quick! I did revise it slightly to add a bit more flavor. I added 3tbs white vinegar, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 3 cloves fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very, very good! I used abt a Tbsp. of minced onion instead and 3 tsp. of minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Also, I prefer the taste of diced tomatoes vs. stewed, so that is what I used. I reduced the rice to about 1 1/4 c. That being said, this was a delicious recipe. Even my picky 4 yr. old liked it. This will definitely be a keeper. Wonderful for those days when lunch is running late and I don't have anything planned. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was realy good. I am used to having black beans and rice Cuban style, but this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I really loved this, it's easy and healthy! I threw in a beef bouillion cube, 1 tsp of cumin and 1/4 tsp cayenne and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We liked this on tortillas. I used Rotel tomatos and diced chilis instead of just tomatoes for extra kick. Quick and definitely kid approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
We thought this was pretty good. I didn't have instant brown rice, so I cooked regular rice and just mixed it into the bean mixture. I think it maybe could have used a little more flavor and moisture. Next time I will use real garlic sauteed with the onion, and maybe mix in some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
So tasty! I doubled the recipe and instead of the oregano I used cumin, chili powder and a little salt. I also used fresh garlic sauteed with the onion. I premade the rice and mixed everything together after it was ready. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe was so tasty and so very satisfying, that I couldn't NOT review it! I'm dairy intolerant, and finding meatless recipes can sometimes be a challenge. This will definitely be added to the rotation! The only change I made was using Cuban-style black beans. Otherwise, followed it to a "T", and served on whole wheat tortillas. Thanks so much for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe for a quick & easy dinner. Next time I plan to jazz it up with a little garlic and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I agree this was quite a good basic recipe. However, as some reviewers have noticed, it does need a little bit of tweaking for extra kick. I sauteed half an onion and a clove of garlic with some crushed red pepper. Just the juice from the tomatoes was not enough to cook the rice, so I also added half a can of chicken broth. Then, for extra flavor, I added half a cup of white wine. I added frozen corn, more crushed red pepper, some parsley, italian seasoning, a little Cajun seasoning, and about two scoops of light sour cream. It turned out very flavorful, with some bite to it, but still healthy. With the modifications it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States