Quick Bean and Turkey Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Green onions make a perfect flavor addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed these! I think he'd still prefer a beef meatball, but these were a nice option. ~~~I made some small adjustments. I had only 1 lb of 99% fat free turkey, so I reduced the beans and breadcrumbs a little. Used a whole egg instead of just the white. Added a bit of salt-free Italian seasoning. And used beef Better than Bouillon instead of salt (to try and make it beefier-tasting for my husband. Toward the end of the cooking time, I poured on some spaghetti sauce, so it could simmer while I was getting the pasta ready. ~~~They weren't dry or tough. My daughter examined them closely. I told her that they were turkey (but didn't mention the beans). She said that they tasted okay, but that the texture was weird. She's hard to please. :-) ~~~Thanks so much for the recipe, Susan! I do believe we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great recipe! I used cannellini beans and food processed like others, also added finely diced onion since I had no powder and some parm cheese. I was very skeptical looking at the mix since I've never made a "healthy meatball" before but I had a back up plan so I continued and was not disappointed. The meatballs were moist and delicious! My hubby is taking the leftovers for lunch today, he raved over them! They are more filling than the average meatball so dinner can go a little further with these also. Made with rice and gravy, next time I think I'll try with red sauce. Eating healthier wouldn't be so scary if there were more recipes like this one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My wife is vegan for health reasons. I substituted "Gimme lean" sausage for this recipe and we both loved it. Thanks for such wonderful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I used blackeyed peas because that is what I had on hand. Excellent! I am not a huge meatball fan, but I really enjoyed this lighter version, and my meatball loving family did as well. I made extra and froze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic and a "do-over" in our family! My kids loved it. I used crackers because I didn't have bread crumbs. I also used great northern beans because I didn't have butter beans. I opted to cook in olive oil on the stove and the flavor added so much to the recipe. It also made the meatballs very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have butter beans so I used navy beans and my daughter has celiac disease(no gluten) so I left out the bread crumbs but substituted oatmeal. Will be adding this to the dinner rotation for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake View Terrace, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marta'sCrafts
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I didn't put any bread crumbs in it, so I used a spoon to put some meat in he pan, but it was sooo delicious! Great idea to put the bean with the meat! I also used some Worcester sauce and some poultry seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These meatballs were delicious and so moist. The beans added an amazing flavor. I probably could have halved the recipe though because this made A LOT of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used garbanzo beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States