Quick Bean and Turkey Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Really tasty and healthy. This is a really good basic recipe that would lend itself to many different spices and beans. I've never cooked with butter beans before.. have seen them in the store but had a hard time finding them. In my store, they arent with the canned beans.. they are with the canned veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I loved these and so did my family. I used extra lean ground chicken instead of turkey. And to my surprise I did have a can of butter beans which I have never used before in my life. I decided to "pulse" the beans through my food processor instead of mashing with a spoon because I did not want big pieces of bean skin in the meatballs. I also threw in 3 cloves of fresh garlic into the processor as well. I used a whole wheat Italian style bread crumb, added some dried parsley and some grated pecorino romano cheese for a more authentic Italian meatball taste. I baked these instead of fried and used my small cookie scoop to form the meatballs. These were so tasty and we just dipped them in some homemade marinara and ate them as is. Will def make again and its a great way to eat a leaner meatball and have that extra fiber added w/o the kids noticing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Delicious! I made these as written except I baked them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees instead of cooking in a skillet. UPDATE: These freeze beautifully! I just cook a double or triple batch of them, cool them, then put into gallon size freezer bags. When we are ready for a fast dinner, I just pop out a few and either toss them into the sauce to warm back up, or put them in the microwave for a bit. I love this recipe and now always have some in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good! I didn't have butter beans so I used great northern beans. Like the other reviewer, I put the beans in the food processor and added parmesan cheese, fresh herbs (parsley and basil), and garlic. Very tasty. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
These were ok. I made half a recipe and may have accidentally put in a few too many beans, but the meatballs seemed a bit dry and starchy from the beans. I baked them in the oven as opposed to using the stove top, as another reviewer suggested. I served them with red sauce over linguine. It was okay, but the flavors didn't entirely gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have the beans so I omitted. I used fresh garlic and onion instead (3 cloves and 1/4 respectively) plus added parsley and some Parmesan cheese. These meatballs are by far the juiciest I've ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great turkey meatball. Usually lean turkey creates a dry meatball but this recipe solves the problem with the beans and skillet cooking. The only substitute I made were uncooked oats for bread crumbs to remove some gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used garbanzo beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These meatballs were delicious and so moist. The beans added an amazing flavor. I probably could have halved the recipe though because this made A LOT of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marta'sCrafts
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I didn't put any bread crumbs in it, so I used a spoon to put some meat in he pan, but it was sooo delicious! Great idea to put the bean with the meat! I also used some Worcester sauce and some poultry seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States