Quick and Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is really good for a quick meal, however I used leftover roast chicken, can of mixed veggies and Grands biscuits cut in quarters. The Grands biscuits were much better than bisquick. I never used canned chicken but suppose that would be good in a pinch. I might keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe to start out with. And for seasoned cooks it makes a good starter. I used it as a guide. I cooked my own chicken ysing boneless skinless chx breast cooked in broth. I also used drop biscuit dough made from scratch instead of the pre made kind. I added 9 oz more broth and carrots and celery. I alao added herbs to my biscuit dough and broth. It was great! My kids and husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My kids really like this recipe. It's so versatile that you can add whatever you'd like to it. It's super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Yes it is easy but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
A bit bland, but not terrible. Next time I plan on adding a little salt and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I just made this....i mixed it up a bit..to add more flavor. I had a can of Healthy Choice Chicken Pot Pie Soup, so I added that and some baby carrots that I chopped up and some of my own seasonings....my daughter and I really enjoyed this and I could make this again..YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
One reviewer said it best - it's similar to Cracker Barrels version of Chicken and Dumplings. I happen to love that recipe and this one was just as good. I made a few changes. I added carrots and onions. Instead of canned chicken, I used boneless thighs and boiled them first. This made the broth more flavorful, plus, I think boneless chicken tastes better than the canned version. We served ours over mashed potatoes. It filled up my 15 year old and that is nearly impossible some days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Like the title says quick and is and super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinGennerMayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I was originally planning on making chicken in dumplings in the slow cooker, but all of a sudden it was too late. The BF insisted he still have his chicken and dumplings, so I looked for a quick recipe. I boiled/poached my chicken breasts in broth, then removed the chicken. I brought the broth back to a boil and added refrigerated biscuit dough (someone recommended using Grands Buttermilk specifically), following the recipe more as a timing guide. I simmered the 'dumplings' and cubed my chicken breasts, then added back in about halfway through. I added a little dried onion, onion powder (I'm a fan of onion), parsley flakes, garlic powder, and a little black pepper. It tasted a bit store bought, but that doesn't mean it wasn't delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sldavis86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great short cut for comfort food on a work night! I used boneless chicken breast instead of canned chicken (about 6 small cutlets I had on hand, I cooked them in a skillet first) and about 6 cups of broth will do it (I used 2 32-ounce boxes and it was MORE than enough!). I also mixed about 1/4 cup of Bisquik right in the broth to thicken it up. I set the table with the caveat "This will be the worst Chicken and Dumplings dinner EVER." but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States