Quick and Simple Broccoli and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Definitely quick and definitely simple - a classic combination for a great side dish. Not to mention it's a great way to camouflage a healthy veggie in case you have picky eaters in your house! I used a steam in bag of broccoli and whether you use velvetta or another of your favorite cheeses this stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I used a 14oz bag of baby flowerets. Only used 1 1/2 T. butter & asiago instead of cheddar. My family LOVED it!!! Great for low carb. I also just cooked it per directions on bag using microwave, then did the seasoning thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
This wasn't very good with the cheddar. I think I will stick with velveeta..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Melted cheese on top of broccoli wasn't going to cut it for us, so I quickly whipped up a cheese sauce which then made this dish more to our liking. Thanks for a good start tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I like this recipe because it does NOT use Velveeta, which is "processed" and questionable. I used fresh broccoli, sharp cheddar, and 2 Tblsps butter. I microwaved the fresh broccoli florets (2 Tblsps water, cover microwave dish) for 90 seconds, drained water, poured melted butter over broccoli, then topped with cheese. Recovered dish and microwaved for about 45 seconds. Done! Very fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Got what I was looking for. Simple, easy and quick. Less than ten minutes. Used steam in a bag broccoli and cooked it less than called for by 1 and 1/2 minutes. Lightly seasoned with sea salt and black pepper and a little bit of lemon juice. Then, topped with the cheese. No complaints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe was good in theory but it was just basically melted shredded cheese on broccoli, and not anything like the frozen ones. I tried this because I was tired of spending 2.50 for a lil package of frozen stuff. *** Melt a small amount of milk with the butter and seasoning, then add the cheese and stir. This will make it the more creamy sauce if you are looking for something similar to the green giant variety. It also looks better and works for any kind of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was alright. I used a mexican cheese combo instaed of just cheddar. The cheese isnt very cheesy when it is melted. I think next time I am going to use less butter because the broccoli just sits in it. My daughter who is queen of picky loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i really liked that this used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta since i dont keep velveeta on hand very often and its super expensive. i used extra sharp cheddar cheese and i did make a slight change i steamed my broccoli and then melted the butter with a quarter cup of half n half and added the cheese slowly to make a creamy sauce. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
thank you - this was exactly what I was looking for! I needed to 'dress up' the broccoli just a tad but I was not wanting the whole 'broccoli/cheese casarole' thing. Just perfect, my family loved it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States