Quick and Simple Broccoli and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious! I only used one pat of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Simple and delicious! Even though my kids love broccoli this is a great way to get kids that don't care for it to eat it! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I like this recipe because it does NOT use Velveeta, which is "processed" and questionable. I used fresh broccoli, sharp cheddar, and 2 Tblsps butter. I microwaved the fresh broccoli florets (2 Tblsps water, cover microwave dish) for 90 seconds, drained water, poured melted butter over broccoli, then topped with cheese. Recovered dish and microwaved for about 45 seconds. Done! Very fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i really liked that this used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta since i dont keep velveeta on hand very often and its super expensive. i used extra sharp cheddar cheese and i did make a slight change i steamed my broccoli and then melted the butter with a quarter cup of half n half and added the cheese slowly to make a creamy sauce. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnsChef
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was really good to be so simple! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Although I prefer a true cheese sauce, I won't hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My favorite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe was good in theory but it was just basically melted shredded cheese on broccoli, and not anything like the frozen ones. I tried this because I was tired of spending 2.50 for a lil package of frozen stuff. *** Melt a small amount of milk with the butter and seasoning, then add the cheese and stir. This will make it the more creamy sauce if you are looking for something similar to the green giant variety. It also looks better and works for any kind of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really like broccoli and cheese. I find it better to use velveeta for the cheese. Also, if you want to make this into a more stuffing meal/side dish mix in cooked white rice. That's how I used to eat it as a kid and I still do =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Definitely quick and definitely simple - a classic combination for a great side dish. Not to mention it's a great way to camouflage a healthy veggie in case you have picky eaters in your house! I used a steam in bag of broccoli and whether you use velvetta or another of your favorite cheeses this stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used this recipe for more ideas and guidelines. I bought a 12 oz bag of broccoli florets that I could just steam in the bag (SO much easier, and only a few cents more). I melted the butter and tossed the cooked broccoli with it. I did not want to spend the $ on velveeta because I would only use a little for this & the rest would sit in my fridge. I always have kraft american slices, so i melted 5 slices on top & mixed it together with a little pepper (no need for salt because its in the butter & cheese already). I started out with 2 slices then had to keep adding more til I got to 5 to get the right amount of cheese. I agree with some other reviewers that cheddar just doesn't sound like it would taste as good as processed cheese. We enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urdonesrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States